Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Belgian and French Ale > All-Grain - Karmeliet Clone

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2011, 06:05 PM   #21
GordonT
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowBird View Post
I am fairly new to brewing, 5 extract batches in and I am ready to switch to all grain. My favorite beer is Triple Karmilite so I am going to use your recipe as my first all grain this weekend. I was just curious if you had any advice or anything you may have changed since you posted the recipe? Also how is the color? I have done an extract "white ale" that came out dark brown and I was shooting for a golden color. I was told this is because of the malt extract. So I guess my question is does this beer have the same color as Triple Karmilite? Color is not everything but I really want to fine tune my brewing to be able to get the colors I am shooting for. Thanks for any advice you have and for posting the recipe.
The color is very close. A nice golden Belgian ale. My grain bill does not include any dark malts so your beer should turn out well. Not white but a nice golden color.

I am going to rebrew this shortly. After a tasting of the original last night the only thing I will experiment with is the amount of spice in the finish. Karmeliete definitely has a very floral coriander flavour.

Actually there is one other thing I am going to change next time around. I got a great tip of sugar and how to best use it to ensure a low FG. Don't add the sugar/syrup during the boil. Wait until the head begins to drop a bit during primary and then add. Reasoning on this is that yeast eats the easy to digest sugars first and complex sugar later. Forcing it to eat the complex sugars during the first part of primary will ensure your FG is lower, making the beer more 'digestible'

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2011, 06:20 PM   #22
GordonT
Recipes