Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Belgian and French Ale > All-Grain - Houblon Chouffe aka HopChewy

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2011, 10:57 AM   #51
Houblon
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by motobrewer View Post
houblon do you keep it at 75F during the entire primary?
Yes, I find its the best temp. Always check gravity before transfer - 1.006 - 1.008 is the numbers you need before secondary & dryhopping @ lager temps.

Right now I'm doing a test with the Gnome batch, one is dry hopping at room temps and the other is in the fridge as normal.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2011, 02:05 PM   #52
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 207 Times on 182 Posts
Likes Given: 366

looks great. i undershot the OG by a lot, but I figured I would since i typically get around 70%. next time i'll bump up the malt/sugar

i cooled a bit to much and pitched around 70 but it didn't take long to climb to 75 and it's been there ever since.

Old 02-23-2011, 01:13 AM   #53
motobrewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

came home today (48 hours after pitching) and the krausen has already fallen...is this normal? airlock activity has slowed.

it took off within 2 hours after pitching, i pitched a huge starter.

Old 02-23-2011, 08:19 PM   #54
Houblon
Recipes 

Yes the yeast goes thur stages, up-down,chunky followed by a slimy layer before fading away. Just don't even look at the beer for 14 days.. then check gravity LOL

Ever see this vid?

http://www.sierranevada.com/beers/im...ootwindows.wmv

Old 03-15-2011, 06:46 PM   #55
motobrewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

so, i still have another week of lagering, but i realized my primary temp was at 79F.