Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Wheat and Rye Beer > All-Grain - Wit Power (Allagash White clone)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2012, 04:57 PM   #11
BeezBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Just brewed the same recipe as above, with the following changes:

1. Added 1 lb of flaked oats. I'm curious how much the mouthfeel will change.
2. Finally bought some Indian Coriander (wow, what a difference) and added 1 oz. at flameout. Hopefully it'll not be too spicy.
3. Found some seville orange marmalade, added about 4-6 oz to a bowl with 1 tablespoon of flour. Added some of the boiling wort to the bowl to melt the marmalade and form a slurry with the flour. Added back to the kettle at flameout.
4. Added a teabag of chai tea last couple minutes of the boil.

I'll keep this updated when i try it in a couple weeks. Cheers!

Edit: Forgot to add, i did a protein rest at 122 degrees for 30 min. before an infusion to raise the temp. to 154 degrees for another 45 minutes.

God i miss Northwest brews.....

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 11:25 AM   #12
sivdrinks
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Why the flour with the marmalade? How's the Indian coriander different than regular?

Old 03-28-2012, 05:16 PM   #13
BeezBrew
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by sivdrinks View Post
Why the flour with the marmalade? How's the Indian coriander different than regular?
Flour adds some haze to the beer, especially if you keg. More aesthetic than anything. Indian coriander is much more pungent and fragrent than coriander you find in the grocery store. Grocery store coriander usually smells stale and very vegetal. Indian coriander is usually oblong and like an oval while normal coriander is more like a sphere.

God i miss Northwest brews.....

Old 06-23-2012, 01:18 AM   #14
harlond
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by harlond View Post