Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Wheat and Rye Beer > All-Grain - Orange Honey Hefeweizen

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2011, 12:45 AM   #91
sinisterkid
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Kegged this last week. It taste great, even my brother in law likes it he only drinks miller lite. I plan on another batch here real soon
Thanks for a great recipe. I plan on doing a couple more from your site.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2011, 12:27 PM   #92
Grasslands
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Just brewed a hybrid of this on Father's Day with my father-in-law - although I added another pound of OB honey at flameout and .25lb of honey malt in the mix with a little carapils.

Just for kicks (and because I've never done it before), I'm going to rack onto about 2-3lbs of pasteurized raspberries in a couple weeks. Raspberry Honey Wheat here we come!

GrassLands Brewery

Old 06-29-2011, 03:39 AM   #93
arkowa
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Ekk - after 50+ batches, thinking I've mastered most process steps, this recipe gave me a bit of humble pie. Added honey at flameout, chilled the beer, poured into fermenter through a paint strainer... pitched yeast, and put the lid on. When cleaning out the paint strainer I noticed a thick viscous liquid, felt like a congealed fat. It was also all over the bottom of my kettle. *sniff* HONEY! damn. A little note to anyone doing honey late additions for the first time: Stir it in very well.

Oh well, should still be a kick arse beer, minus 20% or so (I hope it was that little) of honey.

Old 06-29-2011, 12:36 PM   #94
Grasslands
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts