Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Wheat and Rye Beer > Extract - Orange Clove Wheat

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2011, 05:10 PM   #11
elkhornbrewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

I just brewed one close to this. I am farily new to homebrewing so after talking with my LHBS and doing a little research I made some changes they are as follows: I brewed this with 1oz. orange the guy at the LHBS messed up and only gave me that one package. I cut the cloves in half but added one stick of true cinnamon while i was steeping my grains I opted that over adding it later in the boil because i didn't want it to over power all the other flavors. I also went with the WYEAST 3068. If anyone has any suggestions or comments I would like that like I said I am new to homebrewing and am excited to see how this one turns out. I brewed on 2-12

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2011, 03:53 AM   #12
findlaym
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

mine fermented like a carbomb. blew out the airlock within 12 hours, no starter. I did however harvest a bunch of krausen though so it wasn't all bad. been out working for a bit but I'll be home right on the 3 week mark.

I'll let you know how it turned out.

Old 03-02-2011, 03:07 AM   #13
findlaym
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I had my first bottle of this tonight. Clearly I fermented too warm because I have a lot of banana notes. There's not as much orange and clove as I would have expected based on the amounts. I guess that's ok. Mouthfeel is great and overall the beer is very drinkable. I need to to my temp control more refined and then I'll take another crack at this.

Old 03-02-2011, 11:34 PM   #14
PurpleJeepXJ
Ah... Leafy Goodness
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Good to hear it turned out alright. I have been thinking of trying a different yeast with it to try and take away that strong banana flavour. Any ideas?