Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > India Pale Ale > Multiple - Stone Ruination Clone

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2012, 10:06 PM   #421
moscoeb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 56 Times on 40 Posts

Made this today, missed expected OG by .002!

Hopeful and can't wait till I can try this one.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2012, 12:35 PM   #422
ChickenSandwichCarl
Recipes 

So here's my partial mash BIAB recipe for this Ruination Clone. I plugged into into beer smith and everything looks good except it keeps predicting a FG 1.017 instead of the 1.012 to I'm looking for. I can't figure out why this is happening. I'm assuming it has to do with amount of fermentables that beersmith is assuming I'll get out of my mash, or what they have listed for the yield for the grains?

Sorry if this is a noob question, but I'm a noob.

8 lbs Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 1 65.5 %
11.4 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L (60.0 SRM) Grain 2 5.8 %
3 lbs 8.0 oz Light Dry Extract (8.0 SRM) Dry Extract 3 28.7 %
2.50 oz Columbus (Tomahawk) [13.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 4 101.3 IBUs
1.75 oz Centennial [10.00 %] - Boil 0.0 min Hop 5 0.0 IBUs
1.0 pkg Dry English Ale (White Labs #WLP007) [35.49 ml] Yeast 6 -
2.50 oz Centennial [10.00 %] - Dry Hop 7.0 Days Hop 7 0.0 IBUs

Beer Profile

Est Original Gravity: 1.072 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.017 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 7.2 %
Bitterness: 106.5 IBUs
Est Color: 9.9 SRM

Mash

60 minutes at 152 in 15.5 quarts
Dunk Sparge for 10 minutes in 4 quarts

Combine w/ DME and boil for 90 adding hops at prescribed times

Add water into fermenter to make 5 gal(hop calculations are taking this into account, i hope)

Old 12-22-2012, 01:14 PM   #423
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4258 Times on 3103 Posts
Likes Given: 810

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenSandwichCarl View Post