Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > India Pale Ale > All-Grain - My 2-time gold winning American IPA

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2012, 07:19 PM   #161
CopperBeechBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Hello. I'm a complete beginner (1 failed Coopers kit and 2 batches of all grain still in the bottle - never tried anything else) so please be gentle if these are stupid questions...

What yeast should I use with this recipe?
Is there an alternative to torrified wheat - I'm in S.Africa and I can't get my hands on any?
Presumably I need to work out how much water to use based on the grain bill?

Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-30-2012, 02:00 AM   #162
BullGator
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 8 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by CopperBeechBrew
Hello. I'm a complete beginner (1 failed Coopers kit and 2 batches of all grain still in the bottle - never tried anything else) so please be gentle if these are stupid questions...

What yeast should I use with this recipe?
Is there an alternative to torrified wheat - I'm in S.Africa and I can't get my hands on any?
Presumably I need to work out how much water to use based on the grain bill?

Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
You can use american, California, chico ale yeast (like white labs wlp-001) or any "clean" yeast to be safe. I have used white labs English ale yeast on some IPAs in the past as well.

I am not an expert on ingredients but I would use whatever wheat grain you can get.

I am not sure I understand your water question. If your doing full boils, then do whatever you need to do in order to end up with a full carboy while accounting for boil off. I boil 13 gallons to end up with about 11.5 between 2 carboys.

Old 10-30-2012, 07:54 AM   #163
CopperBeechBrew
Recipes 

Hi

Thanks for the advice. These are the yeasts i can get here:
Safale S-04