Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > India Pale Ale > All-Grain - Fresh Squeezed IPA

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2011, 01:51 AM   #21
chapa
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Drinking this now. Very tasty brew. It reminds me of a Ranger IPA, since it does have similar hops, but I'd have to say this is definitely better! Has more of a citrus/orange flavor than Ranger, which I think rounds it out more, Ranger almost gets catty to me after a little while of drinking them.

I used the oak cubes but dont notice them really, and unless it tastes like a tree, I'm not good at detecting that flavor. I think I can taste it more in the mouthfeel and maybe adds a little smooth dryness to it. It seems to blend well with the hops.

I think I could have left the dry hops and oak in for a few more days. It's got a great aroma, but it may have been better if I would have left them on for 10 days. I got anxious and kegged after 6 days of dry hopping.

It's still rounding out, as it's only been in the keg for maybe 2 weeks or so, but definitely digging it so far! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Edit: I did a pretty different malt bill also, so this might change the overall flavor profile, as you used more crystal malts and some munich, but obviously the hops are the spotlight of this recipe, so I doubt it made a huge difference. However I don't think the extra crystal is a bad idea with this one. Either way it's a great beer!

Here's a picture of it in action :-)

forumrunner_20110504_195033.jpg  
Bottled/Kegged: Red Rye IPA, Wesside Trip(Westmalle Tripel clone), ESB, Lil Trap (4% Trappist Starter Batch), Robust (Pumpkin) Porter, 3% Little Hopper, "Slick Rick" Old Engine Oil Clone(oaked w/ vanilla and balvenie scotch), Imperial RyePA,
On Deck: Quad, Belgian IPA, Orfy's Mild, Scotch Ale

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2011, 06:11 AM   #22
ThePell
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes