Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > India Pale Ale > Multiple - Dogfish Head 60 Minute Clone (AG) & Extract

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2013, 12:11 AM   #2051
Bamsdealer
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 10

I'm coming around on my batch. Not sure whether it's getting better with time, or I'm just learning to love it. All my Cali Ale Yeast ales are great fresh, but I fermented this with Denny's Favorite. It was very cloudy and took a while to clear. Now that it's clear, I'm able to enjoy it more. The hop taste and aroma isn't what I'm used to in big hoppy IPAs, but the one ounce of mid to late hopping come through better than expected and overall the beer has a nice firm bitterness.

Overall, It's a nice session IPA... think I used 10 or 11 lbs base malt instead of the 13 suggested. I'll probably brew this again... next time with a different yeast and may fiddle with the specialty malts a bit. Especially considering it's dirt cheap to brew compared to some of the hop burst, west coast IPAs. This one was under $20 with harvested yeast.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2013, 02:13 AM   #2052
CrazyJoeMalloy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

After a long hiatus I took my first crack at extract brewing yesterday and this was the recipe I decided to go with, I'm very excited to see how it turns out.

I ended up making substitutions for all the hops on account of the unavailability of two locally (Warrior & Simcoe) and I figured "what the hell, go for broke" and went on to replace the works. This may have been a mistake, time will tell, as it always does.

On the other hand I've never had any DFH before since we can't get it here...yet. There may be hope in the future, but I digress.

The point is, I didn't head out to make a clone so much as an interesting IPA, hopefully that's what I get.