Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > India Pale Ale > All-Grain - Bell's Two Hearted Ale Clone (close as they come)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2012, 01:06 PM   #741
elproducto
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by bfinleyui View Post
Hmm, still too intimidated to make a starter. I think for this batch I may get a 1056 and assuming it's fresh, just smack it, let it swell, and pitch. For a 5 gallon batch, I'm not too terribly worried about it being stressed.

Then I'll work on harvesting some real THA yeast, learn about starters that way.

The other part of it is that I want to brew this on New Years Day, and I'm not sure I'll be able get the right cell count by Tuesday.
Starter is just a mini batch of beer. Nothing to be intimidated about, and something you should start doing. I've been brewing for 3 years and don't own a stirplate.

Fall Line Brewing Company

http://www.beerisafourletterword.wordpress.com

Fermenter 1 - Spring Saison
Fermenter 2 -

Keg 1 - BCS Best Bitter
Keg 2 - McDole's APA
Keg 3 - BCS Robust Smoked Porter
Keg 4 - CYBI Obsidian Stout

MMJfan Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 02:44 PM   #742
jtkratzer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 38 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by elproducto

Starter is just a mini batch of beer. Nothing to be intimidated about, and something you should start doing. I've been brewing for 3 years and don't own a stirplate.
You should try one. I used one pack of 1056 to ferment 22 gallons of beer - half was 1.039 and the other half about 1.064.

Most yeast calculators are going to tell you that you need 4-5 packs of yeast to pitch the correct amount.

You can pitch a single pack and let it do its thing, but you could be waiting a while for fermentation to start or stress the yeast impacting your flavor.