Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Stout > All-Grain - Yooper's Oatmeal Stout

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2012, 02:02 AM   #191
te3b0r
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yooper View Post
I just saw this, so sorry I didn't answer sooner.

I never considered cocoa nibs- but I despise chocolate beyond belief. I hate the stuff, so I wouldn't make a chocolate anything (not even a cake). I have no experience at all with cocoa in beer. I'm sure many people do make chocolate stouts, though, with good results.
I am right there with ya Yooper that crap is nasty but for some reason in beer it seems to work great....

Okay so the real reason I posted was I think I screwed up. I only mashed for a hour and then aged 2.5 gallons on Oak Soaked Bourbon for a few days after about 3 weeks. Tossed in the keg tonight and while yes I just tossed in the keg it was thin, very very thin. Drinkable but still wasn't what I was after. My numbers were a bit off 1.050 and 1.009 so any hope in making this heavier or just lesson learned on mash time and brew it up again soon?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2012, 05:17 AM   #192
nickmv
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 59 Times on 47 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Quote:
I'd probably ditch the 5.2 buffer, and use 1.5 quarts/pound, unless you have a pH meter and/or know the exact make up of your water.
I fetched my water report. We've got some of the cleanest water in the country here.

Ca - 4.4
Mg - 1.87
Na - 5.2
S04 - 3.8
Cl - 3.6
CaC03 - 35
HCO3 - ????? (both hardness and alkalinity CaCO3 were 35--not sure if this is related)
pH - 7.2

Any recommendations? I always use tap water for my brews.

Primary #1 (SS Brew Bucket):
Primary #2 (SS 7G Chronical):
Primary #3 (Better Bottle): Rye Saison
Secondary #1: Pinot Grigio Kit
Secondary #2: Pinot Grigio Kit
Secondary #3: Gewurztraminer Kit
On-Deck: