Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Stout > All-Grain - Russian Imperial Stout (2011 HBT Competition Category Winner)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-13-2012, 07:55 PM   #151
blip01
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Brewed this again on Sat. Hit 1.094 w/ BIAB! I'm going to soak oak cubes and vanilla beans in bourbon, then add to the secondary.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2012, 11:34 PM   #152
Davst
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by EXTROVERT
I brewed this recipe Saturday - my first ever all grain brew. Talk about diving right in. I bought a used three tier brew sculpture from a local guy, 3 10 gallon stainless kettles each with their own burner. It worked great... but, as a newbie, I quickly learned things I need to do differently next time out and I'm worried about how it's all going to turn out in the long run.

First questionable thing I did: I made a yeast starter the day before the brew (long enough in advance?) and I made it small. I only had 4 oz of DME. I had it in a bomber with brown glass, so I couldn't see it very well - but it did develop a head and an aroma so it worked but to what extent I don't know. I poured my wort in the bottle through a funnel then tried to pour my liquid yeast in the same way - duh - the liquid yeast poured on through but the hard yeast (the cake?) just got stuck and I had to force as much through as I could with a sanitized straw. So I don't know if I didn't get enough yeast in the wort in the first place. Is the hard part dead yeast?

Prior to 24 hours my brew surface had developed a small head and the blowoff this morning was bubbling once every four or five seconds... it's only been 36 hours.

So - it appears to be working.

Can't wait to do it again!
Don't worry. Your wort will generally try its best to become beer if you don't do anything adverse to it

Old 09-04-2012, 03:56 AM   #153