Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Stout > All-Grain - Nothing Fancy Chocolate Milk Stout

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2013, 11:55 PM   #141
ArcticBear
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 46 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by woknblues View Post
Bad luck. Maybe with some aging, the roastiness will mellow? To be honest, this is my first stout, and I have little knowledge of what roasted grains do over time. This may be a good candidate. It's a pretty robust stout in general. (well, it's not an Irish Dry stout anyway). It might just end up a sipper. Nothing wrong with that, unless you don't have the space, and want to brew more! Also, those nibs may be contributing to a more "bitter" type of chocolate profile, like very dark chocolate, and I think that might accentuate what you are trying to offset. Not saying don't do it, it's just what I perceive having tried the nibs on their own (almost a harsh chocolate bitterness)

*edit- I just notied that you have brewed this before... Hmm. Well, maybe a little age.. Anyways, it looks like "homercidal" did exactly what you did, and it turned out OK http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f68/noth...ml#post4560756
Problem is that this was kind of snap brewed in a pinch for a charity festival im pouring at the first weekend in june and then at the end of june (depending on how it turns out)

Oh well we'll see how it turns out

Also, after about 3-4 days in vodka, cacao nibs smell like beautiful milk chocolate

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2013, 01:06 AM   #142
woknblues
Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Three days so far on the carb. Hoping the stuff will settle out (forgot the whirlfloc), although this is my first time using lactose. My wife just came out of the garage with a full pint of it. She said it was great. I am waiting until Sunday.

Primary#1: BM's Loon Lake Smoked Porter
Primary#2: Farmhouse Saison Brett