Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Stout > Extract - None More Black Vanilla Stout

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2010, 02:27 AM   #61
Barnzy02
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Quote:
Originally Posted by jarod7736 View Post
I'm going to rack this to secondary tomorrow, I have 3 vanilla beans soaking in a 1/2 pint of Makers. Would adding coffee & chocolate to this in addition to the bourbon & vanilla be too much?
It could be, but then again the only way to know for sure is to try it out. I'm no expert, but I think the addition of both chocolate and coffee would be perhaps overpower the overall flavor profile. I would probably choose one or the other, vanilla chocolate or vanilla coffee ... Keeping it a little simpler while still adding a bit more complexity.

With that said, it is your beer and you should do what you want. Experimentation is The best part of homebrewing!

Primary - Amber Alert IPA
Primary - Mild
Primary - empty

Keg - PennsPorter - Vanilla Porter
Keg - Rye Pale Ale

Pennsport Brewing

Newsman Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2010, 11:18 PM   #62
jarod7736
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barnzy02 View Post
It could be, but then again the only way to know for sure is to try it out. I'm no expert, but I think the addition of both chocolate and coffee would be perhaps overpower the overall flavor profile. I would probably choose one or the other, vanilla chocolate or vanilla coffee ... Keeping it a little simpler while still adding a bit more complexity.

With that said, it is your beer and you should do what you want. Experimentation is The best part of homebrewing!
I ended up putting in 3 vanilla beans that have been soaking in 1/2 pt of makers, liquid & all, and 2 oz of coarsely ground coffee beans. We'll see what come out.

Old 12-11-2010, 01:14 PM   #63
specialkaye
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Quote: