Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Stout > Dark Night of the Soul Russian Imperial Stout

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2011, 02:52 AM   #161
MrHat
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

How long would you recommend aging this beer? I brewed in early May and bottled 3 months ago. The heavy alcohol is starting to relax and the flavors are blending so nice. The only issue is that every bottle I've opened has instantly become a geyser. I generally keg my beer, so I have little bottling experience. The beer doesnt taste over carbonated, but it just gushes everywhere. I literally lose 1/2 of each bottle. I made a 5 gallon batch and primed with 1/2 cup of corn sugar dissolved in water.

I'm hoping that aging will help with the gushing issues. Any help is greatly appreciated. This recipe is phenomenal!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2011, 03:19 AM   #162
lumpher
Recipes 

Liked 117 Times on 106 Posts
Likes Given: 15

glad this thread is still going. i've been trying to remember what the beer was called, since i'm going to brew it

Taps:
1: Yeti RIS clone
2: Mangrove Hefe
3: Barkshack Gingermead
4: Oatmeal Stout
5: Bavarian Wheat
6: Premium Lager

Fermenting: Concord Wine, ESB

Old 09-21-2011, 04:09 AM   #163
BrewNinja1
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

You should age at least a year for the flavors to be best. High alcohol needs time to mellow. As for the gushers...look at this: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/gushers-what-do-i-do-now-188170/

Old 10-05-2011, 07:09 PM   #164
MrHat
Recipes 

Thanks for the info. I hope I don't have the gusher bug, that would be a shame to spend all this time and waiting to have gushers, but I'll just have to deal. Thanks for the link, i'll give one of those ideas a try.

Old 11-08-2011, 12:22 PM   #165
Thunder_Unicorn
Recipes