Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > English Brown Ale > All-Grain - Edmund Fitzgerald Clone (AG)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2010, 01:38 PM   #91
JMass
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I've never tried real EF. I did have this at my LHBS during my last trip. They have 2 homebrews on tap when you go to buy something, which is nice. It was very smooth and tasty. I have a lot of Willamette from my hop garden, a lot of Sterling and some Cascade in my freezer, so this could be the next brew. I'll just put in Cascade and/or Sterling in instead of the Centennial.

I'm not sure when to brew - probably in June. I have a small kegerator with 2 taps and I have 3 kegs. The kegs are empty now, but I have a batch in primary and one in secondary - both Cascade Pale Ale varieties.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-03-2010, 04:22 PM   #92
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 197 Times on 176 Posts
Likes Given: 362

brewed this yesterday. didn't take any grav readings but I hit my mash temp. only change was i subbed cascade. I made a 1.4L starter for WLP007, and it was blowing off this morning. strongest ferment i've ever had.

only concern is right now brewmometer reads 73F. i'll probably run it down to the basement tonight, it's 60F down there.

Old 06-04-2010, 05:04 AM   #93
Suthrncomfrt1884
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Just an update since my last post. After a few months of aging in the keg, this baby has turned out fantastic. Still not EF...but a damn good porter. Nice work Ohio.

Another HERMS rig...

Old 06-04-2010, 12:42 PM   #94
motobrewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

good to hear. i just racked mine to secondary (need more kegs...) after 4wks. tasted pretty darn good. probably will sit in the secondary for 3 or so weeks.

Old 06-04-2010, 08:29 PM   #95
Suthrncomfrt1884
Recipes