Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > American Ale > All-Grain - "Kiss Yer Cousin" Rye Kentucky Common Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2012, 01:57 PM   #51
ao125
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
Yeah it is an interesting hop. I've never used it for anything before this. It just seems appropriate.

It would probably be interesting to do an "early american" IPA with it. I also think some of the early american beers (Like Ben Franklins, Washington's or T-Jefferson's recipes would be interesting to do with them.)
The last time I used it was in a Mad Elf clone and it fit in really well.

Kegged (1/3): Traditional Old Ale w/ Smith Bowman Bourbon
Kegged (2/3): English Barleywine with pineapple chunks & brown sugar
Kegged (3/3): Belgian blond w/ passion fruit and brett & lacto

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2012, 04:13 PM   #52
Hopelesst
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
I've left beers 6 months in a bucket with no issues. Just like hot side aeration is a myth, so is this worry about leaving it for a month is nonsnse. You really think if it were possible that it would ANY different if it were 3 weeks or 4?

This beer sat in a bucket for more than a month.......
Wow this makes me feel a lot better. I'm brand new to brewing and the thing I still haven't gotten a hold on is calming down. I started with John Palmer's book and tried to absorb all the science in it. I'm focusing too much on the little things before I get comfortable brewing.

Thanks for keeping this beginner grounded.

Old 04-26-2012, 06:03 PM   #53
bribo179
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Commoners made beer for thousands of years in squalor. People micromanage the process to much. If beer wasn't forgiving I doubt it would have stayed this popular for so long.