Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > American Ale > Multiple - Bison Brewing Company Honey Basil Ale Clone

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2013, 05:06 PM   #21
nate77
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

I'm new to homebrewing and am interested in doing this. I have a question on the basil addition.

Is the basil left in the primary during fermentation? Also, I'm thinking about adding some lemon zest in addition to the basil. Would I leave the zest in during primary fermentation as well?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-30-2013, 03:35 PM   #22
Hovik
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate77 View Post
I'm new to homebrewing and am interested in doing this. I have a question on the basil addition.

Is the basil left in the primary during fermentation? Also, I'm thinking about adding some lemon zest in addition to the basil. Would I leave the zest in during primary fermentation as well?

I don't think it matters but I pulled the basil at end of boil. The basil was just the right amount of presence in the finished beer, any more and it might have caused me to lose a few fans (not everyone likes to drink basily beverages), keep that in mind when deciding whether or not to leave it in primary. Anyway this beer was success, and the keg was empty after 2 gatherings. I think using pellet hops (at least to side-by-side the whole hops) is something I'd do in the future as the hop presence seemed muffled by the honey and basil. Anyway this beer will be brewed again soon.

Old 05-01-2013, 07:55 PM   #23
Crock_it_out
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 18

What was your fermentation schedule for this ale...I did an IPA and did 1wk in primary 2wks in carboy and another 2-3wks bottle conditioning to carb. I'm looking for a pretty quick turnover beer.

Old 05-02-2013, 07:59 PM   #24
Hovik
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crock_it_out View Post