Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > American Ale > All-Grain - Bee Cave Brewery Haus Pale Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2008, 02:22 PM   #321
Danek
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumbo82
I made an 11 gallon AG batch of this stuff last weekend. The only difference was my homebrew store doesn't carry Nottingham yeast, so I asked them for a good substitute. They recommended Safale S-04 which I used. After searching this thread, it appears that I should have used Safale US-05 instead. Now I'm wondering how this double batch will turn out. I suppose its an English ale now instead of an American ale, but will this still be a good tasting beer? I'm new to AG (only my second batch). Thanks.
I just made a split-batch IPA comparing S-04 and US-05. The S-04 has some slight fruity notes to it, whilst the US-05 is cleaner and drier. I think for the style the US-05 would be more appropriate, but the S-04 will still make excellent beer. So RDWHAHB!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2008, 02:31 PM   #322
Jumbo82

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Thanks Danek. That puts my mind at easy. Half of this batch will be going into my first keg, the other half into bottles. I'm looking forward to comparing the two. And I'm really looking forward to having a beer in my kegerator (which still being assembled)!

Old 04-03-2008, 06:35 PM   #323
scinerd3000
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdWort
The recipe calls for 2-Row Pale, but you can use 2-Row Pils if you need to. Be sure to use a 90 minute boil if you use pils so you reduce DMS.
i keep reading about DMS but i havent had a problem with it during 60 minute malt brewing sessions. Is this much more prevalent in AG?

Old 04-03-2008, 06:39 PM   #324
MikeFlynn74

Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts

AG with pilsner malt