Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > American Ale > All-Grain - Bee Cave Brewery Haus Pale Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2013, 06:41 AM   #2661
lowtones84
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 189

I don't think you'll be disappointed. Not that it's that long but I've been brewing for a little over two years and this recipe (with a very slight modification) is in my top 3 for sure. Hope it turns out well, enjoy!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2013, 12:28 AM   #2662
Taco29wps
Recipes 

Default "yeasty" flavors from US-05

I used the US-05 instead of Notty. I also fermented at around 70. My fermenter fridge went tango uniform on me so 70 is all i get. I tasted the beer after 1 week when transferring to secondary... smelled great but (I guess the term is estery??) very yeasty flavor (same flavor at 10 days). I had the same issue when I used Wyeast 1056. Took about a month for the flavor to settle down. Does fermenting at the lower temps help alleviate that off flavor? I'm sure the beer will clean up with a little more time and be great but I really wanted to try to find a "fast" beer. Oh well. Still gonna be good beer.

Anyone have a yeast recommendation that will finish fast without the weird estery flavor, or is it the higher temps that caused it?

Thanks,

Taco

Old 01-17-2013, 01:11 PM   #2663
homebrewhaha
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taco29wps View Post