Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Scottish and Irish Ale > Extract - Quaffable Irish Red (Extract)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2010, 04:58 PM   #71
jgilbreth
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I always type out an instruction sheet for brew day. It keeps me organized, lets me make sure I have everything ready, and really makes the process smooth. Below is the instructional section of it for this recipe when I brewed it:

Brewing:
 Sterilize all equipment.
 Heat 3 gallons water to 160 degrees
 Steep Grains 30 minutes
 Bring to boil
 Add LME
 Add Goldings Hops
 Boil 60 min.
 Add Willamette Hops, shut off burner
 Cool wort to 70 degrees.
 Check OG, target 1.047
 Pour into primary fermentor, aerating.
 Pitch yeast.

I actually check it off as I go down. I know, probably overkill, but what can I say, I'm an engineer.

The grains are steeped in a steeping bag. I put one of those satellite-looking steamer inserts in the bottom of the boil kettle so they aren't sitting directly on the heat.

I also include a place to write OG readings, brew and bottle dates, comments, etc. Once it's all done I put it in my filing cabinet where I keep all my other paperwork and can reference it for my next batch or next time I want to make that recipe.

Primary: Empty
Secondary: Empty
Bottled: Wheat Pilsner, Oatmeal Stout
Next Up: Orange Blossom Honey Hef

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2010, 05:06 PM   #72
mrgreen4242
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgilbreth View Post
I always type out an instruction sheet for brew day. It keeps me organized, lets me make sure I have everything ready, and really makes the process smooth. Below is the instructional section of it for this recipe when I brewed it:

Brewing:
 Bring to boil
 Add LME
 Add Goldings Hops
 Boil 60 min.
 Check OG, target 1.047
 Pitch yeast.