Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > European Amber Lager > All-Grain - Revvy's Vienna Lager

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2012, 12:51 AM   #61
YeastieBoys
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Thanks for the recipe Revvy. Just finished my batch. 5.5 gallons, 1.049 og. I added 1 oz of hallertauer at 60 mins and realized I was going to be under for ibu's. Added .25 oz hersbrucker at 30 mins. I know that it's a little out of style, but it gave me 20.3 ibu's.
I have a nice 50 degree spot upstairs in my bungalow. Perfect for a late Michigan fall.
Any thoughts?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2012, 03:53 PM   #62
periwinkle1239
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

My thoughts are you did the right thing by adding some more hops.

I brewed this last night as well and since my 1 oz of hallertauer was only 3.8% AA, I added 0.5 of tettnang (probably not the best substitute but it's the closest I had) to get me above 20 IBUs. Decided to only use 0.5 lbs of Caramunich and made up the difference with more Vienna malt. OG was 1.050. Got temp down to 58-60 degrees, then pitched re-hydrated S-23 (first time using it) after giving a blast of O2, I put in garage where it currently reads 50 degrees this morning. Been a little over 12 hours, and I already see bubbling.

Mashed at 152 instead of 154, since lately I've been having trouble getting my FGs down low enough. (I wonder if my thermometer is out of wack). The smell of Vienna mashing was definitely unique since I'm used to brewing ales mostly with some sort of 2-row base malt.

Looking forward to this one.

Old 12-05-2012, 04:34 AM   #63
atri
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default has anyone seen this happening?

photo-2.jpg

I'm a little concerned about the stuff on the ridges. Yeast? Hops? Trub?

Old 12-05-2012, 01:32 PM   #64
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes