Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Food and Beverage > Cooking & Pairing > Henckels Knives

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2008, 07:23 AM   #1
rustang64
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Henckels Knives

Only slightly off topic but I'm thinking of investing in a new set of Henckels Twin Pro S kitchen knives and was wondering if anyone would know of where to find good deals. I have looked at the usual Macy's, Linens N Things, Crate & Barrel and on amazon.com so far. Any suggestions would be great.
Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2008, 02:54 PM   #2
scotsmn30
Recipes 

I have seen these on ebay as well for a really decent price but watch the seller. I am a bit of a chef myself and used Henckel knive and loved them but personally found that I like Furi knives a touch better so you may take a look at those as well. Both run about the same price.

Old 01-13-2008, 03:28 PM   #3
Chad

Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts

Can I offer a suggestion? Skip the Henckels. They're not great knives. If you like the heavy German style, Messermeister makes a much better knife. The Meridian Elite and San Moritz Elite are comparably priced with Henckels and Wusthofs but have much more comfortable handles and significantly better factory edges. The Messermeisters also have partial bolsters, which makes sharpening them easier. They're a little harder to find at Towels'n'Such but if you shop online, Chef Depot and Epicurean Edge carry them at reasonable prices.

If you are not married to the heavy German style, MAC knives are lighter, faster, harder and sharper right out of the box and will stay sharper a lot longer than the comparatively soft German steel. MACs can be found at some Sur la Table stores or online at Epicurean Edge and Knife Outlet. The Professional series is the way to go.