The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Food and Beverage > Cooking & Pairing > Cooking tips I've learned being married to a chef

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2011, 01:26 AM   #21
Nateo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 36 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 35

You can find good cast iron pans at yard sales and thrift stores for basically nothing.

They require a small amount of easy maintenance, so everyone hates them.

To paraphrase Dr. England - "Off-flavors smooth with time. So do mountains. Brew it right from the start!"

My blogsite: http://nateobrew.blogspot.com/

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-29-2011, 01:43 AM   #22
dataz722
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2991 Times on 2945 Posts
Likes Given: 28

And normally the older the better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randar View Post
I was wrong

Old 04-29-2011, 12:55 PM   #23
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 207 Times on 182 Posts
Likes Given: 366

aluminum has about 3x the thermal conductivity of iron.

The man who intoxicates himself on bad whisky is sometimes moved to kill his wife and set his house on fire, but the victim of applejack is capable of blowing up a whole town with dynamite and of reciting original poetry to every surviving inhabitant.

– "A Wicked Beverage," New York Times, April 10, 1894

Old 04-29-2011, 01:34 PM   #24
strat_thru_marshall
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 32

You could add "great ingredients = great food". When using whole, fresh, high-quality ingredients, it's easy to make something that is amazing...but it's just about impossible to turn cheap, low-quality ingredients into something really special.

Old 04-29-2011, 03:50 PM   #25
jetmac
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by motobrewer View Post
aluminum has about 3x the thermal conductivity of iron.