The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > What is the best way to rewire this chest freezer for my ebay temp controller?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2012, 12:01 AM   #1
HHP
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Harker Heights, Texas
Posts: 374
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default What is the best way to rewire this chest freezer for my ebay temp controller?

For the record, Im sure this has been asked and answered, but I couldn't find it.

I built a collar for my little 5cu foot chest freezer today so that it can support two carboys. I also installed my ebay temp controller (STC-1000), but Im not sure what the best way to wire it is.

I have included a picture of the wiring diagram on the back of the freezer.

Thanks!

__________________

Texas is awesome.

HHP is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2012, 12:02 AM   #2
Dan
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Dan's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Makakilo, Hawaii
Posts: 5,892
Liked 1821 Times on 1121 Posts
Likes Given: 2618

Default

I'm not familiar with the temp controller you mentioned. Why would rewiring be involved?

__________________
Dan is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2012, 12:57 AM   #3
DeafSmith
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
DeafSmith's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 1,447
Liked 33 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

The temp. controllers most of us use don't require rewiring the freezer - the controller plugs into the wall and the freezer plugs into the controller. The controller has a probe which goes inside the freezer to monitor the temperature and the controller turns the freezer on and off as required. Looks like from the data here:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Temperat...-/220754983199

the STC-1000 works the same way, and also can control a heater. I don't understand why the description says it runs off of 110 volts and the data sheet says 220 volts. I'd double check to be sure you have one that runs on 110.

__________________
DeafSmith is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2012, 01:21 AM   #4
HHP
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Harker Heights, Texas
Posts: 374
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I know i wont have to change much. I realize I could have just put the controller in a project box with a couple of outlets to control heating/cooling, but it is installed in the collar.

I am looking for the most elegant solution.

The controller was originally built for 220v but I replaced the transformer with a 110v version.

__________________

Texas is awesome.

HHP is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2012, 02:13 AM   #5
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 15,874
Liked 3197 Times on 3102 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

Tap into the freezers incoming power to also supply the STC-1000 with power (terminals 1&2). Remove the two wires going to the freezer thermostat, and move them to the two poles of the cooling side switch on the STC-1000 (terminals 7&8). Wire the temp probe to terminals 2&3 as normal. To add heating, run an additional hot to one leg of the heat switch in the controller, then from the other side of that switch to the heater, and then a neutral to the heater.

I'm not sure that this is any more elegant than running wires from the controller to a single gang box mounted somewhere out of the way (like in the back of the collar) and simply plugging the freezer and heater into that, but that's how you'd incorporate it into the freezers wiring.

FWIW I wired mine just like the ones you see in a project box, but my controller is mounted in the collar, and the duplex outlet is mounted in a single gang box that I put out of the way in the compressor area.

__________________
Keezer Soze

Yuri rubs it out with 60 grit... wouldn't even feel a tenga egg. -Randar

, place entry ox dixla to suck. Fcxk fwnpoo and passed. Hel an my spupid ass. OK. - TXCrash
JuanMoore is offline
Dan Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2012, 02:49 PM   #6
HHP
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Harker Heights, Texas
Posts: 374
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

So I ran a four conductor romex from where the stock controller is to the new controller. Two conductors are for hot/common and the other two are for replacing the stock temperature controller.

Theoretically that should work right?

Well the freezer just runs immediately when its plugged in regardless of what the controller tells it to do.

Ideas?

Edit:

I fixed it.

__________________

Texas is awesome.


Last edited by HHP; 03-17-2012 at 03:37 PM. Reason: Fixed
HHP is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Temp Controller for a Magic Chef 5.5 Chest Freezer zinger084 DIY Projects 6 04-07-2014 01:42 PM
Temp Probe options for ebay Temp Controller Crimsonwine DIY Projects 8 12-22-2011 11:08 AM
Another chest freezer love controller set up BGates14 DIY Projects 1 10-13-2011 11:52 PM
Anyone use this temp controller off ebay? Mongo64 DIY Projects 27 05-07-2010 08:58 PM
Chest Freezer Controller cactusgarrett DIY Projects 20 07-01-2008 08:49 PM