The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Ventilation duct size

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2012, 02:24 PM   #1
Malric
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: , Chicago, IL
Posts: 490
Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default Ventilation duct size

I recently purchased a Vortex 6" Inline Fan. I'm debating on drilling a 6" outlet vent or adding a reducer and bumping it down to 4". The 4" is a bit safer since I'll be going through cinder block. Better structural integrity. Anyone have any input?

Malric is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2012, 02:32 PM   #2
BudzAndSudz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boulder, Co
Posts: 445
Liked 31 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 85

Default

I think it's really up to you whether or not you want to drill a 6" hole vs a 4" hole, but you should know that the Vortex fans aren't air compressors, so a reduction in your outlet port size will directly translate to a reduction in flow capacity. You spent the money on a 6" fan, why not get 6" worth of airflow?

__________________
BudzAndSudz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2012, 02:41 PM   #3
allenH
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
 
allenH's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sanford, Florida
Posts: 2,635
Liked 2043 Times on 1123 Posts
Likes Given: 990

Default

What is the cfm?

__________________
allenH is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2012, 02:47 PM   #4
BudzAndSudz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boulder, Co
Posts: 445
Liked 31 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 85

Default

Well Vortex is a brand name, so a quick search on google turns up an advertised 449CFM, but of course after ducting and various twists and turns on the outlet you can probably expect about 350-400CFM.

__________________
BudzAndSudz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2012, 04:06 PM   #5
allenH
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
 
allenH's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sanford, Florida
Posts: 2,635
Liked 2043 Times on 1123 Posts
Likes Given: 990

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BudzAndSudz
Well Vortex is a brand name, so a quick search on google turns up an advertised 449CFM, but of course after ducting and various twists and turns on the outlet you can probably expect about 350-400CFM.
They have two different 6" models, the VTX600 (452cfm) and the VTX600L (235cfm). Looking at the graph on their website, we would need to know duct length and how many elbows you need to use. The VTX600 is 452cfm @ 0" static, but it is only 169cfm @ 1.5" static. The VTX600L is 235cfm @ 0" and 30cfm @ 1.5".
__________________
allenH is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2012, 09:42 PM   #6
Malric
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: , Chicago, IL
Posts: 490
Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

**Vortex 6" 449 CFM, 1.2A, 136w

I plan on running a straight outlet line about 4'

Malric is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 02:18 PM   #7
allenH
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
 
allenH's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sanford, Florida
Posts: 2,635
Liked 2043 Times on 1123 Posts
Likes Given: 990

Default

I thought I could estimate the static pressure, but i can only estimate the friction loss, which the website gives you based on the static pressure. As far as I can tell, the static pressure must be measured. Necking it down to 4" will greatly increase the static pressure, which will greatly decrease the cfm output of the unit.
I work for a HVAC contractor and we routinely put 7" through block walls with no issues (code or otherwise). You just need to make sure the block isn't poured solid.

__________________
allenH is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 06:47 PM   #8
Malric
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: , Chicago, IL
Posts: 490
Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

I think I came up with a solid plan to prevent the block from shattering. I'm going to drill a pilot hole in the block, then fill it with 'Great stuff'. After the great stuff has cured, I'll use a 1/2" bit to drill a 6" circle and use a masonry chisel to knock it out. Thoughts?

__________________
Osmosis Brewing Co. aka another electric build
Malric is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2012, 07:33 PM   #9
CatchinZs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CatchinZs's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carlisle, PA
Posts: 432
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

You might be able to rent a 6" carbide hole saw from a local tool rental company. That should greatly reduce your chance of shattering the block.

__________________
CatchinZs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with ventilation! Cgreen042389 DIY Projects 5 08-16-2012 07:23 PM
Ventilation Help hatfieldenator DIY Projects 2 04-23-2011 09:51 PM
Ventilation GRHunter DIY Projects 6 02-18-2011 07:16 PM
Corona mill + computer fan + duct = husk removal? o4_srt DIY Projects 13 03-11-2010 02:57 PM
Ventilation Help sjlammer DIY Projects 11 12-02-2009 01:03 AM