Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Stirrer Box for Starter

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2012, 04:06 PM   #1
Nil
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Stirrer Box for Starter

I constructed a stirrer box and I have some problems.

Here are the parts

-Project Box
-Car switch
-25 amps rheostat
-12V, .012 amps computer fan
-3” nuts + bolts
-One 1-inch stirrer rod (flat)
-12V PSU
-Two earth magnets

I wired all the parts together, and the RPMs of the fan were too high even in the zero position. The stirring rod was not spinning, just trembling all over the place.

I made some calculations and found that, for a 12V PSU, 12V/0.12 amps fan, I need a 140 ohms rheostat.

I found another 5V PSU and the rheostat resistance requirement turned out to be zero.

I re-wired the stirrer with the new PSU and still and I have the same problem even though the RPMs were decreased significantly.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks, Nil

__________________
Nil is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2012, 04:23 PM   #2
gromitdj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 135
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

There are a few possible solutions, however my first inclinations are:

1. Check that you have the opposite poles of the magnets facing up. Since you are using two magnets I am assuming that they are the disc type that are polarized along their length.

2. Make sure that the magnets are as close to the bottom of the flask as possible. Depending on what magnets you used, they might not be strong enough to work through the enclosure.

__________________

Donnie

gromitdj is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2012, 04:38 PM   #3
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,928
Liked 424 Times on 345 Posts
Likes Given: 58

Default

Does the fan draw .12 amps, or .012 amps?

__________________
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2012, 05:59 PM   #4
Nil
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

0.12 amps

__________________
Nil is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-03-2012, 04:26 AM   #5
Brewshock
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 21
Likes Given: 1

Default

You just have to play with it. I started with a 12v psu and dropped to a 9v with no success. Yet when I installed a second rheostat, left one down all the way and fined tuned the second one. I was finally able to see some results. Don't give up. You'll get it.

__________________
Brewshock is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-03-2012, 12:47 PM   #6
krazydave
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Clarita, California
Posts: 866
Liked 23 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I threw a couple resistors on mine to drop the voltage. Worked a charm.
Then I got this brilliant idea to use a on-off-on switch I had lying around to put different resistance on each side. I now have high and low speeds as well.

__________________
krazydave is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-04-2012, 01:04 PM   #7
Nil
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Thanks, Folks. I found that I got ceramic magnets and it seems not appropriate. I will dig some old hard drive to get the magnets out. I will also try to use some resistors as well as a second rheostat.

The stirring rod also seems wired. It is totally flat and square, as opposed to others that are round. I don't know. You may advise.

Thanks!, Nil

__________________
Nil is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-04-2012, 04:53 PM   #8
Nil
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 118
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Well folks, I got it thanks to your advice.

I purchased an internal 10K rheostat and new magnets (I don't have any old hard drive). The magnets are bigger, meaning a higher surface area for the magnetic field.

I placed the new rheostat is series with the external rheostat, and tuned the current using a small nut. Just perfect.

Thanks a lot, Folks! Nil

__________________
Nil is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
diy stirrer mummasan DIY Projects 5 05-07-2012 01:39 AM
Motor for HLT Stirrer sdugre DIY Projects 13 10-13-2011 01:02 AM
How many RPM's is too much for HLT Stirrer Mr. Mojo Rising DIY Projects 16 01-07-2010 06:14 PM
stirrer fro electric HLT planenut DIY Projects 26 02-16-2009 02:56 PM
Motor for HLT stirrer. TommyBoy DIY Projects 7 01-02-2009 10:15 PM