Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Stc-1000 wiring
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2013, 12:25 AM   #121
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 16,390
Liked 3220 Times on 3123 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weirdboy View Post
Ah, I didn't know that. How long is the delay?
See my edit above. IIRC factory setting is 3 min.
__________________
Keezer Soze

Yuri rubs it out with 60 grit... wouldn't even feel a tenga egg. -Randar

, place entry ox dixla to suck. Fcxk fwnpoo and passed. Hel an my spupid ass. OK. - TXCrash
JuanMoore is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 12:30 AM   #122
Hang Glider
Beer Drinker
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Hang Glider's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Augusta, SC
Posts: 3,151
Liked 147 Times on 118 Posts
Likes Given: 100

Default

I don't have the STC (using the love TSS2) but with any controller -

use a couple of lamps - and have some warm water and ice water - then move the probe from one to the other and see if the lamps come on appropriately - that way you're not hard-cycling your compressor during the test/troubleshoot phase.

__________________
Hang Glider is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 12:43 AM   #123
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,965
Liked 429 Times on 350 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hang Glider View Post
I don't have the STC (using the love TSS2) but with any controller -

use a couple of lamps - and have some warm water and ice water - then move the probe from one to the other and see if the lamps come on appropriately - that way you're not hard-cycling your compressor during the test/troubleshoot phase.
Was this advice directed at me? Of course I was using a lamp to test it.
__________________
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 01:34 AM   #124
catmandu1999
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Posts: 15
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weirdboy View Post
Ah, I didn't know that. How long is the delay?
As Bugs Bunny would say, "What a Maroon!"

I, too, was a dumbass today. Finally figured out the bloken engrish of the instructions, and waited the required 3 mins, heard a click, saw a light, got power to the plug! All is well, hope that is your only problem as well.
__________________
catmandu1999 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2013, 05:54 AM   #125
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,965
Liked 429 Times on 350 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catmandu1999 View Post
As Bugs Bunny would say, "What a Maroon!"

I, too, was a dumbass today. Finally figured out the bloken engrish of the instructions, and waited the required 3 mins, heard a click, saw a light, got power to the plug! All is well, hope that is your only problem as well.
Yeah, that was the issue. I tested it again after finding that out and it worked like a charm. Now I feel stupid for wasting all that time trying to fix a problem that didn't exist.
__________________
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2013, 02:27 AM   #126
Spinrathen
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 148
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

subbed.

__________________

Thank you Jerry!

Spinrathen is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2013, 09:38 PM   #127
jman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 125
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post

Mine is wired up to have one set of sockets always on, so I'm not tying up my wall socket all the time. I can run the vacuum if I want. Then one 2-sided outlet for heater and one 2-sided outlet for cooling.


this diagram is excellent and extremely helpful, as i plan on giving both the hot side and cold side their own set of sockets, as well as an 'aways on' set of sockets. one question though:
how could i add a switch to ONE of the 'always on' sockets? i'd like to have some rope lighting in my fermentation chamber that i can turn on with an external switch.

at the very least, i know i need to break the plate between hots on the 'always on' set of sockets, i'm just not positive whatelse needs to be done to add the switch.

anyone have a diagram for this addition? is this possible?
__________________
jman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2013, 10:08 PM   #128
Hang Glider
Beer Drinker
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Hang Glider's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Augusta, SC
Posts: 3,151
Liked 147 Times on 118 Posts
Likes Given: 100

Default

You would break it on the rope light, not on this schematic. Break ONE leg of the rope light with a switch.

__________________
Hang Glider is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2013, 06:12 PM   #129
jrodder
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Streetsboro, Ohio
Posts: 126
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Stupid question, but in an install like this, you are plugging in the chest freezer to the cooling outlet, and the lamp/heating to the hot right? I was thinking about trying to mount it all internally and have the compressor just run right from the STC, and then heat from an outlet, or maybe even wire in a wall mounted light socket directly from the inside.

__________________
jrodder is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2013, 06:46 PM   #130
LowNotes
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 282
Liked 24 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Stupid question time: Does this automatically cycle back-and-forth between heating/cooling depending on the temp the probe is exposed to, or does it requier a manual switch to change it back and forth? Seems like it would be stupid and not worth it if it ISN'T automatic...and I am 99% sure that is exaclty what was being discussed with the 3 minute delay...but I didn't see it explicitly stated (admittedly I only read piecs of the thread) and the descriptions online are terribly written. I am hoping this is "set-it and forget-it", as I might actually start making plans to make one...but if it doesn't work automatically it is definitely not going to work for me.

__________________
LowNotes is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools