Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > STC-1000 replacing refrigerator thermostat

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2014, 04:29 PM   #1
passivestamina
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default STC-1000 replacing refrigerator thermostat

Ok so,
First post here and I'm a novice when it comes to electrical work, but here goes.

I bought a used fridge that functioned fine and I wanted to install an stc-1000 in the refrigeration area, and still maintain the ability to use the freezer. So my thought process was:
1. disconnect the fridge thermostat, and connect hot & neutral to the STC1000 cooling terminal.
2. splice hot & neutral to the STC1000 main power.
3. ferment beer.

So I cut a hole in the door of the fridge, took out the old fridge thermostat which looked like this.

Brown on the bottom is neutral, gray on the top was live from the defrost switch, green is ground, black is livee always on.

So I've
1) spliced black (live) to connect to the defrost timer and STC1000 main power
2) Spliced the brown (neutral) to the cool neutral and main STC neutral
3) Spliced the gray (live from defrost) to the STC 1000 cool live line

Plugged in the fridge, light turns on, fan turns on, STC turns on, cool timer blinks, wait 1 minute for timer to end, cool switch kicks on, STC resets (flashes all 8's on display), STC shows temp and cooling timer is counting down.

So I think the problem is the compressor is pushing too much (higher than 10 amps) through the STC and the STC is resetting itself.

I think if I ground the STC (is that possible?) or lower the amount of pushed through the STC (I think this would affect the compressor), it might work.

But... how?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5r...it?usp=sharing

img_20140319_162616.jpg   img_20140319_162619.jpg   img_20140319_162623.jpg   img_20140319_162631.jpg  

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2014, 06:27 PM   #2
raouliii