The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Some questions on single tier brew sculpture

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2009, 02:06 AM   #1
blk94f150
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Some questions on single tier brew sculpture

I'm tired of lifting 1/2 barrels full of wort and what not. It's time to step it up. My equipment consists of 2 keggles and a 10g plastic MLT with an SS braid. I plan to either convert my immersion chiller into a CFC or more likely just buy a plate chiller.

My main question is with lautering. Do you pump the wort out? How do you vorlauf? Other than that I think I'll only need one pump, plan on using tubing with quick disconnect connections, and propane for now. Any tips on connections/fittings?

As for sanitizing with chiller/tubing between, I can just circulate boiling wort right?

Mike

Total noob.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2009, 02:41 AM   #2
EvilGnome6
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by blk94f150 View Post
My main question is with lautering. Do you pump the wort out? How do you vorlauf? Other than that I think I'll only need one pump, plan on using tubing with quick disconnect connections, and propane for now. Any tips on connections/fittings?
I have a HERMS system, but the principle should be the same. I use the pump to recirculate the wort while mashing so it's already vorlaufed by the time I'm ready to drain the tun. Then I just move the lid from the MLT to my kettle (the return from the pump is in the lid of the MLT) and let the pump drain the tun. Works great and I get crystal clear wort into the kettle.

Old 07-10-2009, 02:51 AM   #3
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 899 Times on 600 Posts
Likes Given: 26

One pump + single tier = batch sparge.

1. Strike. Pump HLT to MLT.
2. Vorlauf. Pump MLT to MLT.
3. Runnings. Pump MLT to BK.