The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Rims toolbox question

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2010, 05:00 PM   #1
snail
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 323
Liked 13 Times on 5 Posts

Default Rims toolbox question

I'm in the process of making a toolbox with a pump in it and eventually will make a RIMS tube to attach to it. I will have a PID, SSR, 1500 watt element, and pump in the toolbox when complete. I'll be using 120 for my power. What gauge extension cord do I need to power the toolbox so I don't burn anything up? Also, do I need certain gauge wire to wire the components up? I'm assuming I'd need a different gauge between the SSR and element.

__________________
snail is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2010, 05:13 PM   #2
Reelale
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17,736
Liked 1373 Times on 1331 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snail View Post
I'm in the process of making a toolbox with a pump in it and eventually will make a RIMS tube to attach to it. I will have a PID, SSR, 1500 watt element, and pump in the toolbox when complete. I'll be using 120 for my power. What gauge extension cord do I need to power the toolbox so I don't burn anything up? Also, do I need certain gauge wire to wire the components up? I'm assuming I'd need a different gauge between the SSR and element.
1500 watt element and the pump will pull around 13-15 amps. 12 guage wire will work fine both for the main power and from your SSR to the element. I used the same wire between the SSR and the element as the main power wire. Did you get a heatsink for your SSR? Anything over 5-amps really needs one. Your components, on the low-voltage side, can be wired with 16-18AWG.
__________________
Reelale is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2010, 05:18 PM   #3
snail
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 323
Liked 13 Times on 5 Posts

Default

I haven't gotten the PID, SSR, or element yet. I'll be using the toolbox as just a pump until I get those components. So I should get a heatsink for the SSR you say? I'll look into that when I order. Does the extension cord have to be under a certain length?

__________________
snail is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2010, 05:23 PM   #4
Reelale
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17,736
Liked 1373 Times on 1331 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snail View Post
I haven't gotten the PID, SSR, or element yet. I'll be using the toolbox as just a pump until I get those components. So I should get a heatsink for the SSR you say? I'll look into that when I order. Does the extension cord have to be under a certain length?
I don't think that length would have much bearing unless it was very, very long. That's one reason to go with the bigger gauge wire. The yellow 12-3 cord they sell at Lowes makes it easy. They highly recommend a heatsink for SSRs when they are switching more than 5 amps I believe. They're relatively cheap on ebay.
__________________
Reelale is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2010, 05:26 PM   #5
snail
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 323
Liked 13 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Awesome, thanks for your help Reelale.

__________________
snail is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2010, 05:39 PM   #6
Reelale
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17,736
Liked 1373 Times on 1331 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

No problem. Good luck. This stuff is still fresh in my mind because I'm just finishing mine, with a bunch of help from people here.

__________________
Reelale is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2010, 10:14 PM   #7
BrewSpook
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 463
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I used a 12 gauge extension cord from Harbor Freight. I dismantled one end and cut about 3 feet off of it to use the wire inside the box.

Sometimes I plug it right int my 20A outlet... on other occasions I can run a 14g extension cord between the outlet and the toolbox and have had no issues with breakers tripping or anythin frying. To be safe I would get all 12g/20A rated wiring though.

__________________

Give me a woman who truly loves beer, and I will conquer the world. -- Kaiser Wilhelm II (1859-1941)

Beer makes you feel the way you ought to feel without beer. -- Henry Lawson


My DIY Tap Handles

My RIMs Toolbox

BrewSpook is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2010, 11:57 PM   #8
snail
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 323
Liked 13 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Thanks Brewspook, I was actually basing my layout off of your toolbox.

__________________
snail is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2010, 02:26 AM   #9
BrewSpook
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 463
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Awesome. I look forward to seeing pics of your progress.

I love mine, I usually get up in the morning and fill the system with water for no sparge, set the temp and go about my business. Come back later and add my grain, go off and do some other stuff... come back for the boil and cleanup. With the modifications I made to my CFC I can cut my brew day to less than 2 hours of actually having to be on site and if I am there the whole time I can do 10 gallons in 3.5 hours. Its sweet!

I have also used it to do a sous vide pork shoulder that was wicked good.

__________________

Give me a woman who truly loves beer, and I will conquer the world. -- Kaiser Wilhelm II (1859-1941)

Beer makes you feel the way you ought to feel without beer. -- Henry Lawson


My DIY Tap Handles

My RIMs Toolbox

BrewSpook is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2010, 06:41 PM   #10
snail
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 323
Liked 13 Times on 5 Posts

Default

For my RIMS toolbox I want two switches. One will control the pump and one will control the PID/element. This is what I have for a wiring diagram so far. I don't know what to do for the switches, PID power, and pump. Any help?

__________________
snail is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My brewing toolbox Ryan_PA DIY Projects 11 10-17-2013 12:58 PM
To RIMS or not to RIMS...that is the question. Dgonza9 DIY Projects 12 08-24-2010 10:01 PM
220v Toolbox? ScubaSteve DIY Projects 4 06-28-2010 05:27 PM
Another RIMS question kegtoe DIY Projects 2 05-17-2010 09:07 PM
RIMs Question BrewSpook DIY Projects 17 12-06-2009 06:23 PM