The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > RIMS circulation temp overshoot

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2011, 06:33 AM   #1
Bru
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 841
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default RIMS circulation temp overshoot

I have a 1500W low density RIMS tube with the temp probe installed on the wort "out" side.
My grain bed stays at the right temperature but wort circulating through the RIMS over shoots by about 2F.
For example if I set my desired temp to 151 the RIMS will turn on at 150.5 and turn off at 151 but the thermometer will continue to rise to about 153F before gradually falling back to 150.5 and the process starts over.

Considering the mash temp stays constant should I be concerned about the overshoot ?
Any ideas how to fix it ?

__________________
Bru is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2011, 07:34 AM   #2
wildwest450
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,099
Liked 163 Times on 149 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Sounds dialed in to me. I have a herms setup and need to re-circ a degree or two hotter than mash temps to maintain.

__________________
wildwest450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2011, 01:06 PM   #3
Sawdustguy
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manorville, New York
Posts: 2,758
Liked 28 Times on 25 Posts

Default

It sure sounds like your RIMS is doing exactly what it is designed to do.

__________________

Guy

Brewery URL: Black Dog Brewery NY

BBQ Team URL: Two Fat Polocks BBQ Team

Sawdustguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2011, 01:33 PM   #4
Homercidal
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Reed City, MI
Posts: 22,837
Liked 1900 Times on 1371 Posts
Likes Given: 1045

Default

Sounds good to me. I'd only worry about the grain bed and fluctuations within.

__________________
Homercidal is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2011, 02:12 PM   #5
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 53 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

How are you controlling the element? Don't ask me to explain it, but with a BCS system the PID is adjustable (easy for some) to control any overshoot. You can watch it in action as see how the power to the element starts to throttle back as it reaches temperature. I'm not saying your finished product will show the 2F difference but it doesn't sound like something that can't be fixed with a setting or change in probe location.

I don't understand more than 2% of this http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?...PID_controller but it might help you.

__________________
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2011, 05:36 AM   #6
Bru
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 841
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Thanks for the replies all.
Im using a temp controller from RS Components.

__________________
Bru is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2011, 10:48 AM   #7
lehr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: flushing michigan
Posts: 805
Liked 16 Times on 16 Posts

Default

Mine stays pretty much dead on what I have it set at. How fast is your pump flowing I think dialing in your wort flow will help stabilize your temp not to fast not to slow.;

Pat

lehr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2011, 08:44 PM   #8
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 29 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Where is the temperature probe located?

__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2011, 02:50 AM   #9
jmer1234
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 36
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I use a PID from Auber Instruments. Given my current calibration, I have found that I have to set my temp 2 degrees below my target, let it overshoot, then about 20 minutes into the mash as the temperature has stabilized I can slowly raise the PID up the final 2 degrees. That generally keeps me right at the temperature I am looking for. I originally set my probe at the inlet to my RIMS tube, but have moved to directly in the mash. I found that given the thermal mass of all the external equipment the RIMS tube temperature fluctuates much more slowly. It can take up to 10 minutes for the 2 location to agree on the current temperature. The mash will rise at almost 1 degree every 45 seconds when the heater is continuously on, but the RIMS tube measurement reflects a 1.5 to 2 minute degree changes.

Personally, I do not worry about the temperature of the wort as much as the grist. My theory being that I am more worried about the enzymes in the grain. Whatever is in the wort is already dissolved, and does not need as much conversion. I know that most HERMS brewers are concerned about killing the enzymes by running the wort past a heater element. I always see efficiencies of 75 - 80%, and have never scorched anything. I do keep the pump running at all times.

__________________
jmer1234 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2011, 06:14 AM   #10
Bru
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 841
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

That makes sense. My probe is installed at the "out" side of the RIMS. Im tempted to move the probe to the MLT for reasons you state - more stability - but as its working Im going to leave it.

__________________
Bru is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keezer builds and circulation fans. hukdizzle DIY Projects 23 05-31-2014 04:05 PM
Digital temp controller for RIMS bulldogxray DIY Projects 3 12-26-2010 04:45 PM
To RIMS or not to RIMS...that is the question. Dgonza9 DIY Projects 12 08-24-2010 10:01 PM
rtd rims polecreek DIY Projects 3 12-20-2008 06:46 AM
digital probes for temp controls on herms/rims nathan DIY Projects 1 12-13-2008 02:10 PM