Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Ranco Controller Not Working..
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2012, 08:54 PM   #1
38372
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Commerce, MI
Posts: 39
Default Ranco Controller Not Working..

Have had a new single stage Ranco hooked up to a chest freezer for over a month now. Couple days ago I came out to find that it said 68. Everything is in order with the Ranco, temp/diff wise. Plugged the freezer directly into an outlet and it turned on.

Has anyone else has a problem with their Ranco or any suggestions/troubleshooting??

Thanks

__________________
38372 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2012, 12:13 AM   #2
carlisle_bob
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Carlisle, PA
Posts: 1,205
Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts

Default

Hi

The freezer turned on when plugged into the outlet - did it cool down? I have seen brand new freezers that seem to run fine. They make all the right noises. The lights come on. They just don't cool.

If it's the Ranco, check the settings and the wiring to the contacts.

Bob

__________________
carlisle_bob is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2012, 07:35 PM   #3
38372
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Commerce, MI
Posts: 39
Default

Yup the freezer works properly when plugged in directly.

Checked the wiring on the Ranco and everything is correct and has a good connection.

Can't seem to find any contact info on the manufacturers or anything?

__________________
38372 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2012, 08:01 PM   #5
38372
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Commerce, MI
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BargainFittings View Post
Check to be sure the wire(s) have not pulled loose inside on the supply side of the controller.
Just checked them all. Everything is tight and wired correctly.
__________________
38372 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2012, 08:04 PM   #6
BargainFittings
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
BargainFittings's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Allen TX
Posts: 1,904
Liked 51 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 38372 View Post
Just checked them all. Everything is tight and wired correctly.
Test the controller with a lamp or something to see if it really is powering on the plug
BargainFittings is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2012, 05:45 PM   #7
carlisle_bob
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Carlisle, PA
Posts: 1,205
Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts

Default

Hi

Lamp plugged into controller:

Probe in hot glass of water = lamp on

Probe in bucket full of ice = lamp off

Bob

__________________
carlisle_bob is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2012, 01:07 AM   #8
38372
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Commerce, MI
Posts: 39
Default

Tried it with a lamp. It is set at 36, read 76 and didn't turn the lamp on. Tells me it is definitely the Ranco. Not sure what to do now. Tried calling Pex Supply and ETC Supply as I have bought from both of them and neither have returned my calls in days.

Anyone out there have the manufactures info, cant find it online.

Thanks

__________________
38372 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2012, 01:16 AM   #9
JRems
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Mahopac, NY
Posts: 2,229
Liked 58 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

It is switched to cool mode or heat mode?

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby_M View Post
Simcoe smells like 10 cats pissing on a pine tree. It's awesome.
JRems is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2012, 01:20 AM   #10
Junkster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Central, Ohio
Posts: 508
Liked 30 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Try this: http://www.uni-line.com/modules/cata...categorysearch

Click on the "Contact Us".......

__________________
Junkster is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Output Voltage Of Ranco Controller Cold_Steel DIY Projects 4 08-19-2010 06:14 PM
Ranco two stage temp controller ?s dogtailale DIY Projects 1 08-19-2010 05:49 PM
My Ranco is not working apparently.. beergears DIY Projects 3 05-27-2010 04:26 PM
Dual use ranco controller? rmwood DIY Projects 6 08-27-2009 03:18 PM
Ranco Controller Sensors kladue DIY Projects 1 11-01-2007 03:45 AM