The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Quick Potentially Dangerous Angle Grinder Question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2009, 04:18 PM   #1
maltymike
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Quick Potentially Dangerous Angle Grinder Question

So I'm about to cut the top off of my keg.. and when I put my cutoff wheel on my angle grinder (I have never used one before) I noticed the wheel is not secured at all. The Nuts holding it in are tight, but the wheel has range to move in beaten the 2 nuts. Is that normal?
at first I thought it felt very unsafe, but I managed to talk myself into thinking it was normal and that when the blade spins at such a rate, it should keep the wheel level..
I start to cut and the wheel starts wobbling all over the place and I cant imagine thats normal.. or safe.. so I quickly stop..
Im worried about over tightening the nuts so i haven't really tried to get it tight, but it does seem to want to stop at a certain point..

please help

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2009, 04:23 PM   #2
BarleyWater

Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Are you screwing the nut on straight, or perhaps missing a spacer, because that is definitely not normal, and definitely is dangerous.

Fermenting: Nada
On Tap:Cran Wit, Dr Pepper Dubbel, Cascadian Pale Ale, Dark Chocolate Stout, Imperial Stout, Brown Mild, Schwarzbier
On Board: IIPA

www.franconiabrewing.com

Old 03-06-2009, 04:24 PM   #3
hayabusa
Recipes 

you are not using the proper nut, or its not locked down. no slack should be there at all - additionally a angle-grinder generally uses thick discs which is not going to make for a nice cut. use a Dremel or a pneumatic cut-off wheel....

Old 03-06-2009, 04:25 PM   #4
babalu87
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 12