Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > PVC Tower Cooling Solution

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2009, 05:49 PM   #51
bradsul
Flyfisherman/brewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 4

I'm not an engineer or anything so take this with a grain of salt...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tandpbrewing View Post
About to build either a tower or coffin box myself...but with 4 taps. Is there any good reason not to just get one bigger diameter copper pipe and put all the lines in there, or two larger pipes with 2 each?
I think you want to maximize the copper->line contact and minimize air space, using a single pipe won't allow for this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tandpbrewing View Post
Also, assuming most people are using about 10' of line per tap, with probably 8-9' inside the fridge, does the beer in the fridge not transfer its (lack) of heat to the 10% that is in the tower? I know almost nothing about physics so maybe cold liquid sinks too??
I think if this was actually the case, nobody would bother cooling the tower to begin with as it would be unnecessary. I'm only using 6' lines myself, but I run at a higher temperature and lower PSI and carbonation level than most people.

Projects: Sylvania Kegerator Conversion, Tower Cooling, Grain Milling Station

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2009, 03:54 PM   #52
tcklord
Recipes 

I just built my tower for my keggerator and used 3/4 instead of 1/2 copper to run my beer lines through but it seems to work quite well. With my 5-6 foot lines I get maybe a half inch extra foam on the first pint but it's nothing to worry about. Thanks for this tip it seems like a better idea then having a fan run continuously. It's so much nicer to have a real tap rather then using picnic taps, I'm loving it!

Old 10-21-2009, 05:25 PM   #53
Catt22
Recipes 

Liked 57 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 51