Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > PID's or Brewtroller?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2009, 02:48 PM   #1
Cpt_Kirks
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 44 Times on 39 Posts

Default PID's or Brewtroller?

I'm working toward having an all electric brewing system. I'll need some way to control the elements in the HLT and Keggle, and maybe later for a HERMS setup.

It seems PID's to control the SSR's run about $45, each. A Brewtroller board runs about $100, complete.

I can go a step at a time with individual PID's, but in the long run, a Brewtroller board will be cheaper and more flexible.

Any advice on which way to go?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2009, 03:15 PM   #2
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 428 Times on 349 Posts
Likes Given: 59

I'm a computer engineer, so when I go to a HERMS/RIMS I'm going to either use a microcontroller or get some used computer parts and throw them together. And screw PID I'm going fuzzy logic all the way. I still have that code laying around somewhere.

Old 06-03-2009, 03:18 PM   #3
Laughing_Gnome_Invisible
Recipes 

Liked 510 Times on 393 Posts
Likes Given: 76

Won't the brewtroller control the PIDs? Surely you need all them PIDs and SSRs anyway?

Steven Hawking ~ As we say in science, the England football team couldn’t hit a cow’s arse with a banjo

Old 06-03-2009, 03:41 PM   #4
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 54 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 29