Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > no output from STC-1000
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2011, 05:56 PM   #11
janivar123
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: porsgrunn norway, lol
Posts: 554
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

8 is hot out 7 is hot in (cooling)
neutral and ground should be connected directly, bypassing the controller
1 goes to 7, 2 goes direct to freezer

__________________

Nothing too interesting yet
deamonale
A work in progress just like my beer

janivar123 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2011, 02:53 PM   #12
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Here's about as simple of a diagram as you will get. The black/white/green wires that are on the lower left corner are the power feed coming in from whatever cord you have plugged into the wall.



If you don't want heating capability then don't connect either of the wires that are on terminals 5 or 6 of the controller (and there is no need to break off the tab on the outlet either).

If you don't want cooling, then don't hook up the wires that are on terminals 7 and 8 of the controller (and there is no need to break off the tab on the outlet).

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
drakeskakes Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2012, 06:00 PM   #13
Nanitebrewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 28
Default

I'd like to wire mine directly onto the power cord for my freezer. I'm a little confused about how to do it. Does the neutral need to be wired in or just use the hot?

__________________
Nanitebrewing is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2012, 08:35 PM   #14
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 780
Liked 64 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 99

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanitebrewing View Post
I'd like to wire mine directly onto the power cord for my freezer. I'm a little confused about how to do it. Does the neutral need to be wired in or just use the hot?
You'll need some type of enclosure. Both hot and neutral are needed to power the controller on terminals 1 & 2. Use terminals 7 & 8 to interrupt/switch the hot to the freezer.
__________________
raouliii is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2012, 12:48 PM   #15
brewfreeordie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: manchester, nh
Posts: 83
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

I just got one of these myself. I'm really happy with the unit.

__________________
brewfreeordie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2012, 05:56 PM   #16
gx1400
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 52
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwi View Post
I remember the special "Circuits for Non-believers" class they had for you guys.
Did your controller not have a stick figure drawing of a switch on the sticker above the terminals?
You sir just made me smile remembering the days of college. Silly MEs
__________________
gx1400 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2012, 01:05 PM   #17
twd000
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 410
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gx1400 View Post
You sir just made me smile remembering the days of college. Silly MEs
In my simple mind, every switch is a knife switch, since I can "See" it close the circuit
__________________
twd000 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2013, 02:11 AM   #18
Brewsmack
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 84
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker View Post
Here's about as simple of a diagram as you will get. The black/white/green wires that are on the lower left corner are the power feed coming in from whatever cord you have plugged into the wall.



If you don't want heating capability then don't connect either of the wires that are on terminals 5 or 6 of the controller (and there is no need to break off the tab on the outlet either).

If you don't want cooling, then don't hook up the wires that are on terminals 7 and 8 of the controller (and there is no need to break off the tab on the outlet).
Thanks for the diagram. I was having the same issue.
__________________
Brewsmack is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2014, 12:15 AM   #19
Texastrooper
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 59
Liked 10 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Thanks. I fell for the same. Sorry but these instructions leave lot to be desired. But now it is working.

__________________
Texastrooper is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2014, 07:51 AM   #20
Cardinal_Vintage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 14
Default

Very helpful thread. The diagram on the STC is very deceiving.

__________________
Cardinal_Vintage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone know a cheap PID with analog output? kshuler DIY Projects 32 02-06-2011 04:30 AM
PID Relay output driving an SSR? onelegout DIY Projects 9 09-01-2010 03:57 PM
Nothing on the output side of my SSR???? Krelja DIY Projects 10 06-22-2010 01:40 PM
SSR Heat Output? RonRock DIY Projects 9 02-08-2010 03:35 PM
Should I move my MLT Output to the bottom? Eigenmusic DIY Projects 1 09-24-2009 02:01 PM