Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Need wiring advice, please help!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2012, 01:03 PM   #1
akthor
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: , ME
Posts: 1,463
Liked 24 Times on 22 Posts

Default Need wiring advice, please help!

So I have to install a turnlock outlet. It is the kind that has 4 plug blades, posts or whatever they are called.

So on the back of the outlet it has 4 terminals, a green one, two brass colored ones and a nickel colored one. The wiring instructions say ground goes on green, the hot wires go on the brass colored ones and the neutral to the nickel colored one.

Problem is the supply wiring only has 3 wires? Black, white, and the bare copper colored ground wire.

The plug I am needing the outlet for has 4 wires in it?

What do I do???

__________________
TEN GALLON ALES
akthor is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2012, 01:20 PM   #2
Bernie Brewer
Grouchy Old Fart
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bernie Brewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Eldorado, WI
Posts: 7,539
Liked 109 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

What is the receptacle for? What is the the voltage and amperage of the circuit? There is some writing stamped on the receptacle- how does it read? You are going to have to get the proper twist-lock receptacle, I just need more info to help you get the right one.

__________________
I like to squeeze the nickle until the buffalo craps-mt rob

"Why don't we get drunk and screw?" Jimmy Buffett
Bernie Brewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2012, 01:31 PM   #3
astronomical
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 41
Default

you need 4 wire "supply wire"... i use 10/4 sjoow when im working with 220vac

What are you making? spa subpanel GFCI?

__________________
astronomical is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2012, 01:38 PM   #4
Tinga
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 1,160
Liked 36 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

yeah it sounds like the receptacle is for 240 and you only have a 120 wire going into it.

__________________
Tinga is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2012, 01:53 PM   #5
CS223
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gainesville, Florida
Posts: 254
Liked 35 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Presuming you are looking at a 220V circuit:

A lot of older homes are not 4 wire, the neutrals & grounds are all tied to a common point. Newer homes are 4 wire with the ground and neutral buses separate. On 120V circuits, you have a hot, neutral & ground. On 240V, you have two (120V) hots & a ground, the neutral is absent.

It's not to code, but "technically" you can get 120V by going between ground & one hot leg but I wouldn't advise it especially since you have no ground for a GFCI at that point.

To answer your question, you'd tie ground to ground in the plug/receptacle, and the two hots to the two brass colored screws and leave the "white" screw unused. You'd have a 220V system only. If you intend to use 120V from the same source, you should pull a new wire from the panel neutral to your plug/receptacle according to code.

__________________
My BIAB RIMS E-Brewery Build : My spunding valve build : My shamelessly cheap stir plate build : Cereal Killer Mill Tear-down : My Temp Controller Build : My awesome LHBS

Of all the things I've learned from HBT the single most important lesson has been: RDWHAHB.
CS223 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2012, 01:53 PM   #6
akthor
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: , ME
Posts: 1,463
Liked 24 Times on 22 Posts

Default

SP-10-2N11CC 3420410-15 Waterway Spa Pump 2-speed, 115V, 11A 48 frame 5.6" diameter 1.5" CD/CS 1hp Center Discharge Series, Water Way Hot Tub Pump, Viton Seals. Rated 1.0 HP or Uprated, 1.5 HP. Also an ideal Aqua-Flo FMCP pump replacement for Flomaster CP series. Overall length 15-3/4" Waterway 342041015 sp102n11cc SP-10-2N11CC used by many spa builders including Cal Spas

If you go here: http://www.spapumpsandmore.com/Waterway_Pumps_3420410_15_SP_10_2N11CC_FMCP_p/waterway342041015.htm

You can see the wiring diagram and the inside of the pump. I am confused 115v does that mean 240v supply? Also the it has a turnlok plug coming out of it that is connected as you see in the pics. So I take this to mean I need the turnlok outlet for that to plug into AND do I need to wire a switch as per the diagram on the the pump (as seen in the pics?) It's a two speed pump (though if it saved me $$$ I would hook it up as a 1 speed pump (if possible?)

Thanks for any help.

__________________
TEN GALLON ALES
akthor is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2012, 02:04 PM   #7
mredge73
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mredge73's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 619
Liked 30 Times on 30 Posts

Default

no, 115v means 115V (120v or 110v will work).
It is a 2 speed pump, that is why you have the funny plug.
You don't need the turnlock plug; you can just wire it to one speed.

Ground (1) goes to Green
Common (2) goes to White
High (3) goes to Black (for high speed)
Low (4) goes to Black (for low speed)
*Just don't wire both 4&5 to black; it is not designed to have both coils energized at the same time*

To have access to both speeds you will need a 3 position switch (SP3T).
Common to HOT(BLACK), 1 to HI, 2 to LO, 3 NC (off).
(do not confuse this with a 3-way switch, they are actually SP2T and will not have an off position)

__________________
mredge73 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2012, 02:18 PM   #8
adamreef
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cranberry Township, PA
Posts: 128
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Akthor,

If you are this uncomfortable with electrical work, I would strongly suggest getting someone local to help you out, even if you have to hire a pro. While there is some good info in these replies, it is all based on guesses. None of us is sure if you are working with a 110v circuit or an old school 220v circuit, if the aperage of the circuit and/or guage of the wire is adequate for your appliance, etc. These are things that really have to be looked at in person by someone comfortable with electcial work. You could wire this up in such a way that it will work and still not be safe.

This isn't a dig against you, electical work isn't everyone's cup of tea. The point is that even a pro electrician could give you bad advice if some crucial info has been left out. Better safe than sorry.

Cheers!

Adam

__________________
adamreef is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2012, 02:58 PM   #9
akthor
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: , ME
Posts: 1,463
Liked 24 Times on 22 Posts

Default

I hate electrical work cuz I am terrified of getting zapped lol. But I also can't afford a professional electrician.

So if I am understanding i can remove the turnlok plug and just wire a reg plug in and just plug it into a regular outlet for one speed?

__________________
TEN GALLON ALES
akthor is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2012, 04:19 PM   #10
mredge73
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mredge73's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 619
Liked 30 Times on 30 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akthor View Post
So if I am understanding i can remove the turnlok plug and just wire a reg plug in and just plug it into a regular outlet for one speed?
Yes you can. Defiantly the simplest method.
__________________
mredge73 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Wiring Fan CCBrewer DIY Projects 6 03-29-2012 02:34 PM
Wiring advice needed for pump toolbox issue mmonacel DIY Projects 9 03-06-2012 01:41 AM
Need some help with wiring jessebymail DIY Projects 1 05-18-2011 03:43 PM
Wiring my control box....advice plz ILOVEBEER DIY Projects 3 10-27-2009 04:44 PM
BCS-460 and SSR wiring help! cyberbackpacker DIY Projects 8 10-24-2009 08:40 PM