New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Need advice on a purchase please

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2010, 03:13 PM   #1
ILOVEBEER
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Need advice on a purchase please

Hello,

I have several non perlick faucets lying around and want to purchase the adapter to make these:

Does anyone use these for portable keg dispensing and if so do you like the pours you get from it?

Any reasons I should stay away from these?

Thanks
Joe

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2010, 03:35 PM   #2
Ciliorozo
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I am no expert, but I know there is a relationship between temperature, hose length, and pressure. Given that there is no hose in this setup I would be concerned about properly balancing the system. I am sure someone out there has had success in doing it since these are widely available at the LHBS's. Anyhow, the reason I am replying here is because I thought about this setup when I read about a device that helps with the short or non-existent hose. The thread about that device is here: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f35/cure-your-short-hose-troubles-100151/
That may help.

Old 07-14-2010, 03:46 PM   #3
Sigafoos
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

The brewer at the downtown brewpub brought a 3 gallon keg of IIPA to the picnic we had in September. Turned it upside down so the tap was at the bottom and it worked fine. YMMV I guess.

CBW website | Twitter | Facebook | HBT thread

Niagara Association of Homebrewers ex-President
Live in or around Buffalo? Join NAH for fun and excitement!

[1:47pm] chefmike: and dont listen to sigafoos!
[1:47pm] Sigafoos: that's generally good advice

Old 07-14-2010, 03:52 PM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 234 Times on 188 Posts
Likes Given: 398