My Side by Side Kegerator/Fermentation Chamber Build

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sean_close

Reaction score
Very much a newbie here, but I just got my first batch into bottles, and now I'm dying to improve my overall brewing experience. To that end, I decided to build a fermentation chamber/kegerator. I used cas3439's build as my guide (linked below), picked up a $40 CL fridge and got started.

https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/side-side-fermenter-keggerator-316056/

Mine will be no where near as polished. I don't have the tools or the skills top that build. I really just want a kegerator, and to not have to deal with a swamp cooler for my second batch.

At the moment I am still waiting on the ebay temp controllers to arrive from china (were supposed to be delivered last week) , so I thought it would be a good time to post...

Ok, while waiting for the moderators to approve this thread creation, my controllers arrived and I completed my build.

Pics tomorrow when I get back in town...

I started with an Amana SRD23VW.

After removing the interior shelves and controls

Removing thermostats. The Freezer thermostat is a switch which controls power to the compressor (among other things).

The refrigerator thermostat was a purely mechanical device which opened and closed a damper to control airflow from the freezer section. I will use 2 fans to push/pull air from the freezer to the fridge side.

IMG_0636.jpg

IMG_0605.JPG (2).jpg

IMG_0612.JPG (2).jpg

IMG_0602.JPG (2).jpg

A pic of the freezer section before removing the Icemaker and dispenser components

And after

Here’s the pile of stuff I took out. I might be able to reuse some of this, but not sure what yet.

After removing the back panel of the freezer