*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > My new brew system, a brutus 10 with some nice modifications
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2012, 12:00 AM   #361
midnightbrewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 33
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

yes, both pilot and thermocouple connected. pilot is functioning, but I have not verified that the thermocouple is functioning properly. how would I do that? and yes, the knob is set to 'on' :-)

__________________
midnightbrewing is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2012, 12:09 AM   #362
ShaKeyJ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightbrewing
yes, both pilot and thermocouple connected. pilot is functioning, but I have not verified that the thermocouple is functioning properly. how would I do that? and yes, the knob is set to 'on' :-)
If the pilot flame stays on, then the t-couple is good. Is the gas valve yer using for the proper gas?
__________________
ShaKeyJ is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2012, 12:25 AM   #363
midnightbrewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 33
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I think so... it's the same model as most folks on this thread have purchased. http://www.pexsupply.com/Honeywell-V...lve-11588000-p

__________________
midnightbrewing is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2012, 12:46 AM   #364
midnightbrewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 33
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

upon further inspection, the gas valve is for 3.5"WC and my regulator is standard 11" WC. so it looks like I do have too much pressure at the valves and it's locking up. as I look closer, perhaps I need the LP conversion spring kit but I thought the valve was already situated for LP... if the spring conversion isn't the answer, would I just find some in-line 3.5" WC regulators?

__________________
midnightbrewing is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2012, 01:49 AM   #365
ShaKeyJ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightbrewing
upon further inspection, the gas valve is for 3.5"WC and my regulator is standard 11" WC. so it looks like I do have too much pressure at the valves and it's locking up. as I look closer, perhaps I need the LP conversion spring kit but I thought the valve was already situated for LP... if the spring conversion isn't the answer, would I just find some in-line 3.5" WC regulators?
Most gas valves can be converted from natural (3.5) to LP (10 or 11). Seems like that would take care of it.
__________________
ShaKeyJ is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2012, 01:56 AM   #366
ShaKeyJ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 32
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaKeyJ

Most gas valves can be converted from natural (3.5) to LP (10 or 11). Seems like that would take care of it.
Yes. Use the spring conversion kit. that's what I meant to say.
__________________
ShaKeyJ is offline
midnightbrewing Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2012, 03:22 AM   #367
midnightbrewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 33
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

yeaaaahhh... so about that whole "research" thing. I didn't do mine.

well I feel sheepish.

Thanks for the help getting me turned around and in the right direction. except for a couple of 304 stainless pieces; that was the last hang-up to the first brewday on my new stand! I'll get some more photos working in a little bit.

__________________
midnightbrewing is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2012, 11:32 PM   #368
jsw585
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 4
Default

Hey Josh or anyone else that can naswer,

I have completed the control panel for my brewing rig. Today when I connected it to the brewing rig (i.e. the gas valve solenoid) I over heated the tranformer and blew the fuse on the main load. I am using pretty much the same components as Landin's rig.

I did a control panel dry run Friday before connecting to the solenoid to check voltages at all the points. I indeed had 24V at the panel connectorsfor the solenoids when they were in both the AUTO (PID) mode and the MANUAL mode as selected by the 3-way switch. That 24V disappeared when switched to the OFF mode, as expected.

Today, I connected the cable from the panel connector to the solenoid on the gas valve to what I thought were the right connections, one being TH and the other TR (see wiring diagram for gas valve on page 7 of the above pdf link). When I powered on the control panel, I blew the fuse.

Upon opening the box, I noted the transformer to be VERY hot. I removed the cable from the panel connector so the solenoid was no longer connected, replaced the fuse and tried a dry run again. The fuse blew immediately. I suspect I have damaged the transformer and that is what led to the second fuse blowing.

Does anyone have a description for wiring the gas valve? I have the PDF that shows the wiring diagram for the gas valve, but I dont really understand how to modify it for this application. I suspect I have wired the gas valve incorrectly and thus blown the transformer.

Thanks for any help!!!!!

JW

__________________
jsw585 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2012, 01:29 AM   #369
Commonwealth
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montpelier, VT
Posts: 82
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

What is the volt amps rating of your transformer? I had bought one that wasnt rated high enough and could only power one solemoid at a time.

__________________
Commonwealth is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2012, 02:43 AM   #370
jsw585
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 4
Default

40vA. Didn't think of looking at that. I don't know what the Honeywell 8200 requires, though.

Either way, I'm only powering one solenoid during the mash. I'm using a HERMS setup, so I only need to heat one tank.

Sorry. My dad kept all the electrical-skill genes to himself.....

Sure do appreciate the help!!!

JW

__________________
jsw585 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The complete cleaning regimen of a brutus system sourmash Equipment/Sanitation 48 05-22-2012 04:08 PM
Brutus 10 type system help JSomps6 Equipment/Sanitation 9 08-25-2009 06:58 PM
Burner gas modulation on brutus system? sourmash DIY Projects 6 03-12-2009 12:16 PM
New guy using Brew House kit with modifications ajk170 Extract Brewing 6 10-07-2008 10:35 AM
Brutus Ten gas system pluto DIY Projects 8 03-08-2008 02:41 PM