HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > My Latest Project - Walk-in Cooler

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2006, 06:20 AM   #21
Ize
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

John,

That's freaking AMAZING. I have a totally raw 30+ year old garage and you have given me a crapload of ideas for sealing that sucker AND making it brew friendly. Keep posting, I can't wait to see how it shakes out...

Ize

Sig to re-open when it's less of an embarassment
What I do for a living on the web... www.wsoyam.com

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-26-2006, 03:16 PM   #22
Todd
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

does that insulation maintain its R30 rating when placed in a 2x4 wall? Just curious, I thought it needed a certain amount of expansion room.

Old 07-26-2006, 03:25 PM   #23
the_bird
10th-Level Beer Nerd
Recipes 

Liked 339 Times on 280 Posts
Likes Given: 91

Yeah, if you compressed that insulation, you lose a LOT of the insulating value. Your R30 is probably half that, at most, if you compressed that into a 2x4 wall. Stuff that thick is designed to either sit on TOP of rafters or go into 2x10 framing between rafters. Remember, it's the air pockets within the fibers that provide the insulation, NOT the fibers themselves.

"I'm kind of toasted. But I looked at my watch and it's only 6:30 so I can't stop drinking yet." - Yooper's Bob
"Brown eye finally recovered after the abuse it endured in Ptown last weekend, but it took almost a full week." - Paulie
"no, he just doesn't speak 'stupid'. i, however, am fluent...." - motobrewer
"... I'll go both ways." - Melana

That'll do, Pigley. That'll do.
electrolight Likes This 
Old 07-26-2006, 03:53 PM   #24
John Beere
Deep Six Brewing Co.

Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 5