Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > My electric brewery build

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2010, 12:23 AM   #1
Suicided1954
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 91
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default My electric brewery build

I just wanted to show off all my hard work from this weekend. I was hoping to brew last weekend on this...maybe next weekend. I still have to build the electric keggles. (those are from my propane rig) I had to do the control box twice...after I got it built, it kept tripping the GFCI when I switched on the PID's. I had to run a seperate 120V to it and re-wire the whole stinkin thing...I haven't decided where to put the control box yet...and I need to paint the stand...
Thanks
Darryl



__________________
Suicided1954 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2010, 01:41 AM   #2
the_Roqk
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
the_Roqk's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 975
Default

Nice set up. I see you got your HLT and BK ready for firing. I'm getting all of my components together for my electric conversion and hope to have it ready within a month. My only problem is trying to find a good schematic for wiring the control panel. I have 2 PID's and 2 40 amp SSR's for the elements. I have an idea how I want to connect it all but still need to see more schematics so that I'm convinced that I can wire it properly. If you don't have one can you or someone point me in the right direction?

__________________
the_Roqk is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2010, 02:19 AM   #3
Suicided1954
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 91
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I referred to CodeRage's "primer for brewers" thread. There is a schematic in it. Like I said I had to punt after the first run...and run in a seperate 120v. So, the schematic i drew up first is different. I have built several conveyor dryers for my screen printing operation so this was not anything new, just a different heating element and I don't have a GFCI on my dryers .

__________________

Last edited by Suicided1954; 03-08-2010 at 02:21 AM. Reason: too many homebrews
Suicided1954 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2010, 02:28 AM   #4
the_Roqk
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
the_Roqk's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 975
Default

Thanks.

I believe I've already seen that post from Code Rage. I'll rescan it to make sure if I've missed anything.

__________________
the_Roqk is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2010, 03:09 AM   #5
Photopilot
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

Just ran my rig today. Started the boiling of water while finishing the control panel. Once I plugged it in I got the same thing popped GFCI. I will be asking questions tomorrow to see what I may have done wrong.

__________________
Photopilot is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2010, 03:28 AM   #6
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 29 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

It looks good guy! Let us know how the maiden brew goes.

__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2010, 04:37 AM   #7
Jmurm
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 88
Default

I have a 4 prong outlet at home, do you guys know how to convert a 4 prong outlet into 3? or just wire it up somehow to only use 3 wires, and not 4? Also is there any way to run a 120v pump off 220v, or convert it somehow?

__________________

Last edited by Jmurm; 03-08-2010 at 04:39 AM. Reason: another question
Jmurm is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2010, 04:44 AM   #8
Photopilot
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmurm View Post
I have a 4 prong outlet at home, do you guys know how to convert a 4 prong outlet into 3? or just wire it up somehow to only use 3 wires, and not 4? Also is there any way to run a 120v pump off 220v, or convert it somehow?
Your in luck, 4 prong means you have 240 and 120 and ground in your outlet. If you wire it correctly you should be able to run all your needs off the 4 prong outlet, provided you have enough amps.

My life would be a lot easier if there was a 4 prong outlet somewhere in my kitchen.
__________________
Photopilot is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2010, 04:56 AM   #9
Jmurm
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 88
Default

Its 35 amps, and i will be running 4500w element, and my pump which will be fine. I just dont know how to wire it up. To the pump would be Black White Green? and to the element Black Red combined going to Black on the element, White to White, and Green to ground? Good to know i got both, better just get a 4 wire cord then.

__________________
Jmurm is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2010, 05:03 AM   #10
willynilly
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Avon
Posts: 728
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

If you are running a 240VAC element, it will have 2 HOTS to the element terminals. Black to one, RED to the other... that is how you get 240VAC and not 120VAC

There is no neutral on it

__________________
willynilly is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BCS Based Electric Brewery Build Version 1.1 sjlammer DIY Projects 39 01-06-2011 03:25 AM
My Electric Home Brewery Build skarude DIY Projects 26 06-11-2010 11:32 PM
PID for electric build skarude Equipment/Sanitation 17 02-11-2010 06:16 PM
Electric Rig Build RJS625 Equipment/Sanitation 7 12-29-2009 10:54 PM