New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > My eHERMS (mostly) Kal Clone Home Brewery

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2013, 06:23 AM   #1
MrSaLTy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts

Default My eHERMS (mostly) Kal Clone Home Brewery

So I have been brewing since 2006 when I first joined here and have been thinking/planing to move to a better system for years. (and saving) I had first planned on going with a Brutus system until electric systems started to become more popular a few years ago and decided electric was the way to go for me. This would allow me to brew in the house which appealed to me a lot seeing as I never could really brew in the winter months.

My new brewery will be a dedicated room I will build in my basement with a (mostly) clone of Kal's rig. I will try to document things as I move along. I have been already working at this for a few months. It took me almost 2 months to source and buy all the control panel parts I wanted. I am currently getting all the kettles and hardware for the build. I am still in the early stages of planning the brew space in the basement which I haven't done much yet.

You can also follow my build more in depth and with more pictures on my blog at:

http://rottensebrewery.blogspot.com/

Also more info on how I built the LED Logo (see below) is here:

http://rottensebrewery.blogspot.com/2013/06/led-logo.html

Ok enough yakin here are pictures.

All the control panel parts

Power Cable parts and finished cable.

Temperature probe parts and finished probes Probe kits from Kal

Control panel is std 16x16x8
Holes cut for SSRs yeah not that straight but is doesn't matter because heatsink covers it.

Connection holes

Laying out components

3/8" holes drilled for the Greenlee 2" conduit knockout punch, the punch and the cutout bits and finished holes.

Ready for primer