Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > My corny spunding valve build

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-30-2012, 04:08 PM   #1
CS223
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 35 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default My corny spunding valve build

ETA:
The discussion started by WortMonger regarding using the spunding valve. My main interest is in using it to carbonate in the keg during fermentation. According to the Wiki pressure fermenting apparently reduces fusel alcohols and esters and hastens the fermentation and reduces the krausen height which is a plus when fermenting 5 gal. in a corny. It's also supposed to give a clearer beer and allow you to ferment at higher temperatures which is a plus for me in FL since at the moment I don't have secondary refrigeration. I'll have to (counter pressure) bottle from the corny. Quite a bit of information to wrap my head around in the thread, I'm still an amateur & new to brewing.

Based on muse435's build using the following parts:

Ball lock Gas Disconnect Item #5120 $5.99

1/4"FFL to 1/4"MPT fitting Item #S6078 $6.99

Norgren Pressure relief Valve $22.44

Norgren Spec Sheet

The Ashcroft gauge came from Ebay $7.87 delivered.

The Norgren valve has 1/4" NPT female inlet & outlets and it has two 1/8" NPT female gauge ports which can also be used for attaching additional kegs to the same spunding valve with the addition of check valves. Two socket head plugs are included with the valve to plug the gauge ports if they aren't used. The valve disassembles without tools for cleaning. The adjustment knob is like that on the current Tap-Rite regulators, pull out to adjust, push in to lock.

Last edited by CS223; 09-28-2012 at 08:12 PM. Reason: Added link to WortMongers thread. Updated link

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2012, 04:35 PM   #2
brieuxster
Recipes 

Likes Given: 5

Outstanding !

Old 03-30-2012, 04:53 PM   #3
lud
Recipes