Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > My bar....n build (bar in the barn) thus far

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-31-2012, 06:15 PM   #21
grfrazee
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

You have no idea how jealous I am of this project. I'm a hobbyist woodworker and full-time structural engineer, so this project would play to both of those interests. I can't wait to see the finished product (love the tiger maple on the coffin box btw).

Oh, and please tell me you guys added some horizontal bracing to the barn after it almost blew down in the wind storm. I would hate to see you lose your bar build under the collapsed roof should that happen again.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-31-2012, 07:02 PM   #22
mikebering
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 4 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by grfrazee View Post
You have no idea how jealous I am of this project. I'm a hobbyist woodworker and full-time structural engineer, so this project would play to both of those interests. I can't wait to see the finished product (love the tiger maple on the coffin box btw).

Oh, and please tell me you guys added some horizontal bracing to the barn after it almost blew down in the wind storm. I would hate to see you lose your bar build under the collapsed roof should that happen again.
Yeah we did, 2 14"x14"x28' hardwood beams mounted with 9/16" plate steel brackets and 1' threaded rod, along with 3/4" steel wire and tensioners on the opposite wall! Maybe a bit of overkill, but insurance was buying so might as well hahaha.

Old 05-31-2012, 07:08 PM   #23
shuckit
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Thanks for the pictures. I like old barns and it looks like you could have a huge party in that one.

Old 05-31-2012, 08:38 PM   #24
stevehomey13
Recipes 

That looks awesome! Looking forward to more updates.

Old 05-31-2012, 09:38 PM   #25
mikebering
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by shuckit View Post