Old 07-15-2011, 12:22 PM   #61
MaxOut
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 57 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default MaxOut Brew Station - In Action

Summary-

Bought a 5 gallon recipe from local HBS called “North of the Boarder” Cervesa. Not my favorite style beer but wanted to try a “cervesa” style beer for some friends who helped with the build.

Not sure exactly what is in it as it is a proprietary recipe. All In all it added up to 8.25lbs of grain and two hop additions. Used smack pack of Wyeast 2007 pilsen lager yeast.

Without getting too detailed I did a single infusion 60 min mash at 154 while reticulating, mash out , fly sparge and 75 min boil and ended up with exactly 5 gallons in the fermenter. Thanks to the BCS-462 and Beersmith2 I nailed my volumes and temps. My OG ended up 1.041.

I am still a rookie and this is my 4th brew so appreciate any criticisms and advice.

In Pictures - Whole malt, fill HLT/HT EX with water right below mash temp and BK with strike water volume below strike temp. Instant hot water heater shaves an hour of brew day. I recirculate in the HLT to keep temps even through out.

img_4809.jpg   img_4811.jpg   img_4813.jpg   img_4810.jpg   img_4826.jpg  

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2011, 12:29 PM   #62
bucfanmike
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 3

im going to say what everyone is thinking.. To be doing your 4th brew on that is so totally wrong, and congratulations . Those of us who say that though, its just outta jealousy so dont take it seriously. Kudos for you to take the time to build it and understand it and not just drop the $$$ on a prebuilt system as a new brewer, At least it shows some understanding of what your system is doing, and why.

Its friggin awesome.

Mike in Duluth

Currently on Tap
1. Hefeweizen
2. BM Centennial Blonde
3. LHMS Clone

Pipeline
Next on Tap-Denny Conn Rye IPA