Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Making large batches...equipment

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2008, 12:07 AM   #1
BryanZ
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Making large batches...equipment

I'm a complete beginner to brewing, I have a couple questions about going large scale (compared to what I'm doing now atleast)

Like 200gallon batches and such

I was just wondering what the expensive things I'm not thinking of are, what is difficult about doing it at such a large scale

Just brainstorming here, I know I'm a long ways away, but if I can start looking for parts the more time the better

I was thinking of a oil tank for a home would make a good boiler and fermenter.

Maybe connect 5 or 6 car radiators in series and have them sit in cold water to cool the batch on its trip to the fermenter

For the boiler, because it's not a round container I could put 2 or 3 motors on the top in order to stir it...

I dunno, it just seems so easy....when I know it's not

what are some more complicated issues I'm not thinking about, I know people spend several thousand dollars on a 200 gallon setup, why?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2008, 12:20 AM   #2
BryanZ
Recipes 

ok just found out radiators wont work, maybe solid aluminum turbo intercoolers though, whatever, I'm sure I can figure that out

Old 03-19-2008, 12:29 AM   #3
Rhino17
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Things that immediately pop to mind:

1. The legal limit for homebrewing is 200 gallons a year per household (in the US), so you would only be able to brew once.

2. Are oil tanks and car radiators even remotely 'food safe'? Could be hazardous material used in the construction, like lead solder.