Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Keggle welding/sugaring question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2013, 06:31 AM   #1
Drake9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Keggle welding/sugaring question

So I am not a welder by trade but have taken some classes and been welding for a couple years now. Did some research and found if I wanted to turn some kegs into keggle I needed to back purge. Lincoln TIG185 set to 85 amps (not really going full throttle though) and using 1/16 316 rod.

So I tried the can and second hose method and I am not sure it work very good. So the that is the first one, it is not black so not 100 percent it is surgaring. The second one was black as the tape let lose and I didnt know it and the can was half hanging off.

So I was going to use this for HLT so not sure how critical it is, can I still use it? Also I still need to do my BK and my buddies BK if I can get this squared away. Please let me know what you guys think so I can maybe figure what went wrong so I can try again.

0407132157.jpg   0407132150.jpg  

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-09-2013, 07:22 PM   #2
Drake9
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Can anybody help me out?

Old 04-09-2013, 09:08 PM   #3
phreaky
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I can tell you that looks way better than the inside of mine, but mines worked for many batches with no problems. My welder didn't back gas it at all, so while it looks ugly, it's still welded and liquid tight. If it were a fermenter, and I was worried about sanitary welds, I would think about redoing it, but since it's a boil kettle, it's not going to hurt anything.

Old 04-09-2013, 10:54 PM   #4
kickflip_mj
Recipes 

Liked 98 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 3