Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > "Keezer Soze" (yet another keezer build)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2012, 09:05 PM   #61
BullGator
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 8 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanMoore

Sounds fine to me. A lot of people here use just a 2x without any insulation at all (~1.5 R value?). I haven't heard any complaints of major inefficiency issues, and what you're describing would have 2-3 times the R value. I'm no expert, but I'd think making it airtight is just as if not more important than the R value of the collar.

If you really wanted to you could use some aluminum foil. It would help reduce radiant heat transfer, and might help a little. You could staple it to the poplar and/or plywood, or tape it to the foam before assembly.
Ah yes, I do recall that there is a coefficient for reflectivity in that equation for heat loss from my thermo class in college. Although just thinking about it makes me cringe. Thanks for the tip. I'll definitely do that.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2012, 11:17 PM   #62
Judasbot
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Thumbs up for the title..."Keezer Soze", priceless.

Old 01-17-2012, 03:56 AM   #63
OHIOSTEVE
Recipes 

Liked 54 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Rather han welding or soldering the copper, couldn't you just use a 90 elbow at the corners? Or would that not look as nice?

BALDGUT BREWS

Old 01-17-2012, 05:43 AM   #64
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 3229 Times on 3130 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by OHIOSTEVE
Rather han welding or soldering the copper, couldn't you just use a 90 elbow at the corners? Or would that not look as nice?
The main reason for me was that 3" copper elbows are $30-$40 each, but I also think they wouldn't look near as nice.